Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Picking up the threads…

leave a comment »

I could get used to wordpress. Very user-friendly.

I’m not going to go into the whole introducing myself thing. Any interested parties can refer to my other blog: www.maggsbunny.blogspot.com

I still have to create my profile, anyway, and that should take care of introductions.

I’ve hit a bit of a blank now anyway. I haven’t blogged since last Tuesday (gasp) and I saved up so much to write about that it’s become too big a task, so I’ll just start afresh.

I’ve been deep in thought about my MS lately (yes, I have multiple sclerosis). I try not to be defined by it, but it’s hard to distance yourself from something that makes you quite obviously disabled. Affects your independance, your way of life, everything. 

Still Stephen Hawking sure isn’t defined by his ALS, so I guess I don’t have to be defined by anything that I choose not to be defined by!

I’ve stumbled upon quite a numerous amount of stories on the inernet of PwMS (people with ms) that have defreated the disease and live normal (better than normal!) lives. They didn’t accept what fate had dealt them, and neither will I. They all made a huge effort to reverse and obliterate the disease. Nothi9ng in life comes easy, that’s for sure, but it’s so incredibly worth it.

I really miss my independance, and being able to work full-time (or anytime, actually), but there is no reason why I can’t followin the footsteps of all those pioneers and put my back into saying goodbye to MS forever. Now, that is one parting that I won’t mind.

Some of the things are easier that others, such as changing diet and starting to exercise. Others are more challenging, such as meditation and visualisation, which is so foreign to many of us, because we just aren’t taught about it. I myself, am an absolute novice at meditation, but it seems it is the key to recovery so better that I learn how, and fast. I was supposed to start today. Hopefully I still will, even though I am dragging my feet.

I did however do one of the things on my to-do list today, namely finishing Pachelbel’s Cannon, that I was learning to play on the keyboard. That ranks right up there as therapeutic therapy.

And I didn’t break any rules on my diet, yay! Not even so much as a block of chocolate. Of course, I don’t do chocolate in blocks. Slabs are more like it! So best not to even start, lol.

Right now, I’m off to do my daily swimming. At least 50 laps, if I can manage. 

Written by Maggie

January 22, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

