Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Shoulder to the grindstone…

with 3 comments

Since I’ve embraced getting my health back as my actual nine-to-five job, I’ve decided that seeing as how it’s my job (oh, I do love having a job again!) I am going to excel at it. I want to be very good at my job, which is just as well, since it’s something that no-one else can do (for me). I’ve worked out a program for myself. I’ve spaced the physical and non-physical activities alternately, so that after, say, I’ve done some exercise and I’m feeling physically tired, I get to lie on my back for half an hour and meditate. I’m also curtailing wasteful (energy-wise) activities. I’ll do a small amount of house-work each day, to stop it from accumulating, thereby becoming a BIG task, and cook for Michael and I in the evening. Low-maintenance cooking, at that, no cordon-bleu stuff! I still have to start the Chi Kung healing exercise program today. I’ve been putting it off, of course, because it’s completely foreign to me. Suddenly, the meditation seemed much more appealing, and I managed to do a session while listening to my Mozart Effect CD (Vol. IV: Rest and Relaxation). It was quite successful, and I even managed to pop in a healing mantra or two. I will attempt the Chi Kung later. Or tomorrow. Or next week… only kidding. Of course I’ll do it today, lol.

I do feel quite proud of my dietary accomplishments though. For the past two days I’ve been eating only raw foods. Today, we went shopping at our mini-supermarket, and I was assailed by the most wonderful and aromatic smells. And I happened to be ravenously hungry. But, and this is a big BUT, I managed not to go beserko and shove all sorts of rubbish into the trolley. I even managed not to snatch Michael’s chocolate out of his hand and shove it down my throat, which was quite an achievement, believe me. I got home and actually ate my sunflower seeds and raisins, and they were quite nice. Now just to get the carrot and cabbage juice in 😉

I’m going to be making some changes to my diet, namely the addition of a twice weekly animal protein (lean meat, chicken, bit of salmon, etc) I just get the feeling I need a bit of meat. Especially since I need to scale down on the legumes to adhere to Embry’s ms diet. I bought myself some co-enzyme Q10 tablets yesterday, and some b-12 because mine were finished. I’ve been meaning to get the q10’s for ages. Thing is, there are a lot of vitamin supplements I should be taking, but a) I can’t afford them all at once, and b) I have no intention of swallowing gazillions of vitamins as I once was doing. Instead, I’ll alternate them, buying one each month. This is in addition to the good-quality multi-vitamin that I take, and the extra calcium because of my frequent steroid use.

That’s about it in a nutshell for today. I’ll report back tomorrow on how the Chi Kung went. Wish me luck!

Oh, yes, and Dermott O’ Connor’s book is brilliant. I urge anyone with a serious illness that they wish to get rid of to buy it.

Written by Maggie

February 1, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Maggs,

    I dunno if it just my pc acting the fool but your blog seems to be a bit, well lets just say it did not look like this yesterday (there is a big gap and your posts are all justified to the right hand side of the page – an NO i don’t drink so I know I am not imagining it!!! lol

    Love the way you hve set everything out for yourself and I just know you are going to get it all done – with determination and positivity like that you could move mountains, I tell ya!!!

    Good luck with the Chi Kung – The only Kung I know of is Kung Fu – *giggle*.

    Sleep tight and send my regards to M!! oh and before I forget………….thanks for the link!! 🙂

    NMOTB

    February 1, 2007 at 10:23 pm

  2. I like your idea of alternating supplements. I think I’ll do that too! I tend to either take the handfuls or not take any. The Perfectionist all-or-nothing attitude in me that Must.Be.Stopped. Good luck with your program! I figure, if you’ve got the time to make this your full-time job, you may as well give it a go! But getting obsessed about it can be overwhelming. Don’t forget to live and have fun 😉

    Someone’s been working on her blog layout, too! I guess that means you’re staying 🙂

    Donna

    February 2, 2007 at 3:59 am

  3. Amazing. Really. I am sure that you will exel at your job 😉

    supermom

    February 2, 2007 at 9:19 am


Leave a Reply

