Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Birthday party, and a present for me

with 4 comments

M and I just got back from our niece, Aiden’s birthday party. She is 2 now, and that is just the cutest little madam you’re ever likely to see. It was a great party. Aiden’s parents threw her a brilliant bash under their stunning new lapa. The food was lovely, too. I guess my diet will have to start tomorrow, lol. Hahahahahahah 😉 The birthday cake itself had an edible picture of Nemo on it, and that was quite delish. Aiden is quite a good little hostess. She ran after us when we left to personally come and tell us, “Bye. Byeee!” Such a sweetheart. We got her the sweetest little books from CNA. Slow Snail, Noisy Grasshopper and Greedy Caterpillar. Each character has some sort of sparkly 3-D material as part of its body. Too cute.

On the way to the party, we stopped off at the post-office to collect a parcel for me. It was sent to my by my lovely friend, Donna (thanks, Donna!) all the way from Canada. Anyone who gives me a good book as a gift is a friend that I will go to lengths for 🙂  I can’t wait to start reading the book, Betty A. Iams From MS to Wellness.  It is right up my alley at the moment. I so want to be part of the group of people that say, “What can I do to get well?” Find out what that is, and then do it!

M and I are a bit knackered now. When we got home, I took an ice-cold bath to cool down, and he settled down in front of the tv. He did 80+ kilometers on his bicycle this morning, so fair play to him. Not too long now till the Argus, biggest (most number of participants) cycle race in the world.

He’s going to play golf tomorrow morning, and I will be going to visit my parents. I want to go to church with my mom. I haven’t been to church in an awfully long time. In fact, I’ve let my faith slide quite a bit. I used to be a very regular church-goer. I really need to make an effort. At one stage I couldn’t attend church, because I wasn’t mobile enough. But now I am, so better that I make a plan.

Today I took my 5th pill. Still no side-effects to speak of. Or improvements, for that matter.

My new friend, L, is still in hospital. She’s not doing better yet from the meds. I want to suggest that she has an Ion detox like I have when she gets out of the hospital. I have gotten great benefit from it. Just maybe it would help her, too.

Yesterday, I stumbled on a site where you can get free sheet-music. Yay! They have some really great stuff. I was listening to the tracks, and hope I didn’t use too much of our bandwith. But it was just so good. They’ve got Scott Joplin’s Maple Leaf Rag, which I want to be able to play with a sore heart! I love ragtime and honky-tonk style piano. I can play a sort of basic version of Scott’s The Entertainer, but I would absolutely love to play the full version. Challenging piece of music that.

I have mastered Danny Boy, though, which I am loving playing. It is lovely to the point of bringing tears to one’s eyes. It was so worth the effort. Next is the Moonlight Sonata. And I’m still busy coming to grips with The Minute Waltz in between.

I’ve decided that if I improve sufficiently, I will buy a beginner’s keyboard book, and start giving lessons to kids. That should provide me with a modest income (Well, better than modest if I get enough students) and then I can stop feeling like such lay-about 🙂

Written by Maggie

February 17, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so glad you got the book! I hope you get something out of it. Betty is a wise woman, who has been living well with Primary Progressive MS for a long, long time and even in her late 60’s she’s still working and is pretty much the picture of health we all strive for.

    One of my closest friends has been teaching kids piano for about 9 years. What is that website for free sheet music?? I think that would be a great idea for you, a good way to work from home and spend time with kids, which you love 🙂

    Donna

    February 17, 2007 at 6:19 pm

  2. I’m sorry your friend is still battling. Would she be able to go off the trails if she wants to? I feel so badly for her.

    supermom

    February 18, 2007 at 9:31 am

  3. I played piano for a shrt while – long enough to know I suck at it:P But my dad bought me up on the classics so I recognize a lot of it and can name it (which I am sure I irritate DH with every time a piece is on a movie or TV program). I love the Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven’s 9th Piano concerto – see? 😉 ).

    I’d love to hear you play, you must record some of it. perhaps you have a recording career ahead of you. Tee hee. Otherwise giving lessons is a great idea. Good luck.

    birthbuddy

    February 18, 2007 at 11:24 am

  4. Sorry I keep forgetting I am logged in… that was me above (as my alter-ego).

    Jane

    birthbuddy

    February 18, 2007 at 11:25 am


Leave a Reply

