Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Hope it’s of the 24 hour variety…

with one comment

Poor Michael is really sick. What a disappointing long weekend. He was going on so well with his cycling training for the month, too. He only needed another 10km so break a personal record of best April ever. With any luck, it will only be one of those 24 hour bugs.

The thing is, Michael was extremely competitive with the cycling before we met. After we met, however, it went for a loop. The whole getting married and getting to know one another bit took precedence. However, we’ve now been married for six years, and his cycling is on the up and up again. He will be doing a grueling 180km stage race in June, the Kremetart. He does it every year, but I think this year will be his best by far. I’m really proud of him for being so committed to it. I feel so bad for him that this stomach bug, or whatever it is, is getting in the way of his breaking a personal best.

I don’t know if it’s food-poisoning, or some sort of gastric bug, but he’s in a bad way. I ate exactly the same food as him yesterday, so I don’t know what it could be. We have a hunch that it may have been the chocolate mousse we shared. I only had about 3 teaspoons, and it tasted fine, but Michael licked the underside of the lid, and he said afterwards it tasted bad, so that may have been the culprit. Whatever it was, I only hope that he’s better soon. I can’t stand seeing him sick. He’s been in bed the whole day. Couldn’t even watch tv, and that says a lot. We are looking after his parents’ house and the dogs while they are away for the weekend, but I could see there was no way that M was going to make it out. So I called my brother-in-law and asked him if he would be kind enough to take me there so that I could activate the alarm and make sure everything was locked up, which he kindly did. I had to have a laugh though. My brother-in-law came into the foyer of the house with me, because he is a cop and wanted to make sure it was safe, as it was dark already. He waited there while I checked the back door. The two pekinese dogs, one of which is Michael’s, were barking at the stranger in their house. I made sure it was locked up, and then before we left said I just wanted to make sure both dogs were in the house. Priscilla (Michael’s dog) was standing there, barking her head off. But where was her brother, Seuntjie? I went to the main bedroom to check, and heard the most menacing of barks, but slightly muffled, and coming from the safety of behind the bed. Poor Seuntjie.

I made such a cool discovery last night. Michael and I were into this really lame pinball game, years ago. He was trying to find it on the net, but they discontinued it in 1996, so there were only used copies available at amazon.com.

But I got to thinking, and decided to do a search on Adventure Island. Remember those old combo tv-games? I loved it when I was a kid. Loved it. I never did finish the whole game but I got pretty far. Michael and I played those tv games a couple of years ago, and I totally whipped his butt. Annihilated it, more like.

Anyway, I did the search, and found a site where you can actually play the game (and its sequels) online. Not only that, but all those classic old games, like the Atari games, remember them? And the Donkey Kong games? Pacman, Pinball, they’re all there and more. Tennis, tetrus, all those classics. I spent a good chunk of last night playing Adventure Island, although it was pretty frustrating on the computer keyboard, as opposed to the tv-games controls, which I am used to.

Today, we were going to visit my parents for lunch, as my sister and her fiancé were there. They will be getting married tomorrow, and I wish them all the happiness in the world. They are getting married in court, in Johannesburg, so I won’t see her tomorrow. But there was just no way that we could have gone out today, as M was as sick as a dog. Didn’t want to go without him, because he was feeling dizzy and weird and I wanted to be here.

So I amused myself playing more Adventure Island. I played for ages, must have been a good hour or two. Till I started noticing that all my men were dying. For stupid reasons, too. Turned out my left hand was up to its tricks. It went completely numb and weak, and I couldn’t play anymore. First, I was just frustrated, because I had been enjoying the game. Then I tried to scratch the side of my nose with my index finger, and my finger couldn’t even offer up the resistance to do that, it just collapsed in on itself. It has improved slightly since then, but not enough. I tried to play on my keyboard with my left hand, and couldn’t even manage a simple chord. This terrifies me so much. I only hope it’s feeling better tomorrow. I can’t take cortisone until the 15th of May, earliest (long story, but I have an appointment to see my neuro on that day). And, my legs are so stiff in the mornings that I can hardly drag myself out of bed. This is a new and frankly quite disturbing symptom. I’m going to try and see the homeopath tomorrow. He gave me some drops a while ago that were really helping, but they’re finished now.

So all in all, quite a crap day. Hope tomorrow is better.

(PS I was so upset I ate a pie. Haven’t had a pie in years. That is so not a good food option. I made it (one of those convenience ones you just jack in the oven) for Michael, but he was so nauseous, he didn’t want it after all, so I ate it.)

(PPS The link for the games is www.consoleclassix.com for those interested.

Written by Maggie

April 29, 2007 at 10:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel so bad for Michael. Shame man. He is so serious about breaking records when he is on top of his game. Thankfully he does have a brilliant wife to give him TLC.

    I’m sorry to hear about your MS being such an asshole. Lots of hugs.

    Congrats to your sister. I’m very happy for them.

    supermom

    May 1, 2007 at 8:44 am


Leave a Reply

