Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Chugging along.

with 4 comments

Michael and I have quite a good system going, I think. He goes cycling on alternate days (usually Mon, Wed & Fri), and I go to the gym to swim, also on those days. And we’re eating much less junk than we used to. Just from cutting out bread, I actually looked reasonable in my costume today. It’s amazing how it bloats one up. (Well, that may have been due to the fact that I ate at least half a loaf at a time, lol) Anyway, I’ve substituted it with oats. I have it with raisins and a dusting of ground cinnamon, and it’s way better than the bread anyway. So, all in all, we’re trying to adopt a healthier lifestyle, and hats off to us – it’s going pretty well šŸ™‚

I’m starting to feel right at home at the gym. Didn’t think I would like it. Just goes to show.

I wish the medical aids in SA would approve Tysabri for the treatment of MS. I’ve heard such good things about it. Currently, it would cost one in the region of R18 000 per month, if you were to pay it out of your own pocket. So obviously not an option. I hope someone is working on this. Maybe I should find out and join a group of lobbying protestors, brandishing placards, flashing their boobs (or whatever else they have to flash) and demanding that SA med-aids get their act together. So many of us with MS are on a serious time-limit, with encroaching disability that could be avoided. I know R18 000 is a whopping amount of money, but where do you draw the line? When is it too expensive to give someone their life back? A large amount of nerve-damage that takes place during a relapse is irreversible, thus the disabilty becomes accumulating following each successive relapse. Tysabri stabilises the condition and reduces relapse rate by a massive 90%, nearly three times as much as any other MS-medication on the market. But for many people, time is running out. Relapsing-remitting MS, more often than than not, changes over time to the non-remitting form. People with this form of the disease aren’t eligible for Tysabri. So, in closing, tell me what I have to flash and where to get some attention for this cause!

Written by Maggie

May 7, 2007 at 2:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good for you. It’s so true that when you exercise you also eat better. Now that I’m no longer jogging I seem to be eating worse too. Actually I AM eating worse. URGH. I can irritate myself when I want to!

    It is terrible that the medication is THAT expensive. Holy crap. Who do they think will be able to afford that!?

    supermom

    May 7, 2007 at 5:14 pm

  2. Pharmaceutical companies don’t care about our health, they only care about money!! I can’t believe how they can get away with charging so much for all the MS drugs (and others, but I’m most familiar with the MS ones!) No one should be excluded from medication they think could help them. It is so unfair. I hate reading about everyone’s struggles to get the meds they want to try.

    I’m glad to hear you are enjoying the gym!

    Donna

    May 7, 2007 at 7:52 pm

  3. You have always looked fabulous dammit.

    Yes………. I really don’t know about the medication costs.

    Wenchy

    May 8, 2007 at 1:05 pm

  4. Maggie can’t you write to the Minister of Health and ask her about this drug ? Goodness if they can give that Aids drug to all the people who sleep around by CHOICE they can and have to do something about people who has MS and didn’t ask for it ?

    xxx

    Mom Archer

    May 8, 2007 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

