Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Just call me ‘Rover’

with 4 comments

I’ve been as sick as the proverbial dog today. (What was wrong with that dog, anyway?)

Hardly got any sleep last night. Tossed and turned, but the post-nasal drip followed me. Woke  up with a headache from trying to sleep face down on the pillow.

Today wasn’t much fun. And you know what the irony is?? I caught the bug from my detox lady. But I will claim some responsibility for it – I haven’t been eating as well as I should have been, given that I am (most probably) on immuno-modulating drugs. Increased risk of minor infections, such as colds/ flu, they said. Oh well. I’m not feeling too shabby otherwise. Gotta take the good with the bad.

My darling Michael went out and bought oranges and made me a big glass of freshly-squeezed OJ. How cool is that?

Not looking forward to tonight. I hate trying to sleep with a scratchy throat/ hacking cough/ convulsive sneezing fits.  And I’ll have to forego my swimming session at the gym tomorrow morning. Not nice, but I guess if I really want to get very sick, I’ll go for a swim. Not bloody likely.

I got Michael to take a pic of me in my snazzy new swimming costume. I really like my cozzie. I usually get a ‘fun’ two piece to laze around on the beach with. But this one is an endurance Speedo for serious swimming. And don’t I look like a serious swimmer in it? Even sans make-up, how serious is that? lol

hpim1294.jpg

I officially weigh 10kg’s more than I did when I got married to Michael. A lot more of me to love, certainly. (Although, back then I was seriously skinny) I’m becoming quite a strapping girl. I only started swimming to rehabiltate my sacro-illiac joint, but I’m quite amazed at the way I’ve put on weight from it. I’m hoping that a large percentage of it is muscle. I think it is, though. My arms are starting to look positively butch when I flex them, lol.

This costume is a bitch to put on, let me tell you. I nearly dislocated my arm trying to squirm into it the other day. The best was when I tried to don a size 32 in the changing room at the shop where I bought it. That was a joke. I eventually managed to squeeze myself into a 36, after the sales lady assured me that Speedo’s have a notoriously small make. Okay then.

So now I get to swim in style, which is just as well, because my swimming style itself is not up to much. I had fantasies of participating in The Midmar Mile with my dad, but I think that is unlikely. I have to rest too much between laps for that. But hey, if Fingolimod does its job, who knows? In the meantime, I’m just deliriously happy that my sacro-illiac joint is behaving at last.

Did I mention that I’m feeling particularly grotty (read: snotty)? Michael has elected to sleep in the spare bed tonight. He definitely doesn’t want this bug just before his big cycle race next month, and I can’t say that I blame him.

Written by Maggie

May 20, 2007 at 9:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ag no Maggs. Sorry to hear you are feeling so sick. You look very nice in that costume!!! I would NEVER have the guts to put a pic of me in my costume on the blog but then I don’t NEAR a body like yours! 🙂

    supermom

    May 20, 2007 at 9:56 pm

  2. You look really great in your new costume girl. Sorry to hear you aren’t well. Hope you get over it soon !!

    Mom Archer

    May 21, 2007 at 11:59 am

  3. You look FABULOUS!

    Like a real pro swimmer. Keep it up!

    You must have been hardly visible 10kgs lighter 😉 LOL

    Hope you are feeling better

    Jane
    http://janewsblog.blogspot.com/

    birthbuddy

    May 21, 2007 at 2:41 pm

  4. “Hardly got any sleep last night. Tossed and turned, but the post-nasal drip followed me. Woke up with a headache from trying to sleep face down on the pillow.”

    I get that about four times a year and it makes me miserable. Between the sore throat and cough it leads to I end up losing about a week from ym exercise program.

    totaltransformation

    May 21, 2007 at 3:57 pm


Leave a Reply

