Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Love languages.

with 2 comments

The drought is far from over – I’m still battling my ass off to log onto wordpress. I must have tried about five times (unsuccessfully) today. Stupidly, I tried now just before heading off to bed, and of course, at this inopportune time, we have lift-off. Still, who knows when I’ll have the opportunity again, so here goes.

Today I actually (cue trumpets) started my yogalates. It necessitated a trip to Sportsman’s Warehouse to buy myself a resistance band, which I did, and then I tackled workout one (the gentle one) on my dvd. I feel so good for having done it! My knees are hurting though. Hope it’s not related, because I plan on doing the workout every day for at least a month. The swimming is helping considerably with my back-pain, and is strengthening my muscles, but I still have limited mobility. I have great hopes for the yogalates, though.

I found myself reading about the five love languages yesterday. Seems to be the latest buzz word in pop-psychology that everyone is talking about. I came to the conclusion that I am quite high-maintenance. The love languages are as follows:

Words of affirmation (Being told how great you are and how much you’re loved)

Physical touch

Acts of service

Receiving gifts

Quality time

Different people speak different ‘love languages’ having a particular ‘primary’ language that is needed to keep them happy. The currency they deal in, if you will.

I found is very hard to do the quizz that determines one’s ‘type’. Because I basically need them all. Poor Michael, lol. Even I can’t work out which is my primary language.

First I thought, Acts of service. I really do love it when someone goes out of their way to do something nice for me. It makes me feel really loved when M does things for me, helps me out around the house, etc.

Then I thought, no. Definitely Quality Time. I love heart-to-heart talks with my lovie. His complete attention focused on me. Eye-contact, togetherness, having a warm chuckle together, whatever.

But. I’m also a big one for Physical Touch. I love it when M just suddenly takes my hand in his while we’re watching tv. Or a sudden hug that catches me by surprise. Or when he pulls me into his arms for a cuddle. Even a discreet pinch on the rear while shopping, lol.

Apparently it takes a lot to keep me happy.

I also need the words of affirmation. To hear that I am appreciated.

The only area that is not a priority is the Gifts one. Look, don’t get me wrong, I love little surprises as much as the next woman, but I’m not unhappy if I don’t get them. I’m like a camel as far as gifts go. I have to have gifts on my birthday! but I can live off that for the rest of the year. I don’t need to be given gifts to feel that I am loved. 

Michael says his love language is quality time. No problems there because I love spending time with him, it’s not an effort at all.

Sorry if this post is a little on the mushy side, but I’m so glad he’s okay that I’m feeling particularly in love with him.

Written by Maggie

June 13, 2007 at 11:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love hearing how oulik my Boet is. You guys have such a great relationship. I really enjoyed that back. I would say Tommie’s is physical touch. I really craves a hug when he gets home…holding hands…en so
    Mine – acts of love – SHOW me don’t tell me is what I say lol But as you say – many of those apply to me but ‘acts of love’ is definitely at the top for me

    supermom

    June 14, 2007 at 8:37 am

  2. You’re forgetting the newest of love languages…”Blogging”. I’m sure that must be up there for a lot of women as well. Oh Blog me! Yes, Blog me! By the way, thanks for being such a good wife etc. 😉

    Michael

    June 14, 2007 at 10:10 am


Leave a Reply

