Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

It’s a wee bit cold over here.

with 4 comments

Snow in JHB! Can you believe it?! And JHB only two hours drive from us. Oh, I hope it snows here. It will only be the second time in my life that I’ve seen snow. There are funny looking clouds in the sky (snow clouds??) and the wind is bitingly cold.

And I went swimming today, call  me a nutter. Although it is warm in the gym, and the pool is heated. It was lovely, actually. Looking back to a year ago, I can’t believe how far I’ve come. It certainly rocks to be living (virtually) pain-free! I look upon it as a bit of a miracle. But then, the body of every human being is a bit of a  miracle. It has such power to heal itself.

I noticed something yesterday. I make butternut for Michael and I every day. The rest of the menu varies, but there’s always butternut. I’m crazy about it, obviously. I steam or bake it, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with cinnamon. But yesterday, it occurred to me to wonder if M also likes it so much? Or if maybe he’s getting really tired of it. Maybe I should ask, lol. He always thanks me for making the food, and says it was delicious, but I probably better check. Not everyone has a butternut obsession like me, heh. I could live on butternuts, I think.

On Sunday, M and I went shopping just for the sake of it, without buying anything. First time ever, I think. I was having such a good time. We went to two large shops, GAME and Sportsman’s Warehouse. It’s the first time in a very long time that I felt so free, able to walk around, browsing, checking out all the stuff without becoming exhausted and wandering how I was going to get back to the car. I don’t think I’d make it in a massive mall yet though. Baby steps, but it was a lot of fun. At Sportsman’s Warehouse, we wanted to buy a pool table. Then a table-tennis table. And a soccer-table. And I quite fancied the air-hockey-table. Then we laughed at us, because we live in a two bedroom flat. There’s not enough place to swing a mouse, nevermind play table-tennis. Although with my co-ordination that would have been a bit ambitious, anyway, lol.

At the gym today, an oldish woman stood next to me in the locker room, in front of the mirror (I was putting my cap on). She asked me if I was going to swim. I very politley repied that I was, and refrained from pointing out that as I was standing there in my swimming costume, putting on my cap, the chances were good. Then she asked me (bless her heart) if I swam in competitions. That’s the nicest thing anyone’s said to me! I can only put it down to my proffessional looking cozzie! We ended up having a nice chat. I love it when strangers are friendly to me. Just like I dislike it when I smile at someone I don’t know and they turn their head away as if I’m trying to stalk them, and not just be friendly!

My sis, Anne is coming to visit this week. I can’t wait. We always have such fun together. She better not make me sick though. She’s a bit fluey.

I’ll be off now. Gotta go make some butternut et al 😉

Written by Maggie

June 27, 2007 at 4:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Swimming in the winter … nothing beats it, eh? I take the twins every day during the less seasonable days … keeps them worn out.

    mdmhvonpa

    June 27, 2007 at 5:20 pm

  2. mdmhvonpa

    June 27, 2007 at 6:03 pm

  3. I haven’t been to the gym since Sunday. URGH. I’m feeling flu-ish. Just enough to make me unsure if I should gym. Tonight I’m sure I shouldn’t though … not feeling too hot.
    I’m SO glad to hear you are feeling so much better.

    supermom

    June 27, 2007 at 8:31 pm

  4. Woo Hoo – Great to hear that you are doing so well and feeling so GOOD! We had some snow by us, not much but it was there and it is bloody freezing! I like winter sort of but I hate freezing my butt off!!!! Send my love to Michael and Take Care!

    p.s. pump yourself with vit c so that you don’t get the flu bug – It is nasty and so far I have managed to evade it!!!!

    Ciao

    Gen

    June 28, 2007 at 6:19 am


Leave a Reply

