Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Et tu, MS!

with 3 comments

Today was a bit weird. Contradictory.

First, I went to the gym, and it was divine. Pool 100% right temperature, plus I’m now on greeting terms with some of the other swimmers, which is nice. I swam my usual 40 lengths (1 kilometer) and for the first 20, didn’t rest in between. By far my fastest time thus far (even though I wasn’t officially timing myself). Felt good afterwards, didn’t actually need my walker. Well, a bit, but not much.

Then, I went with Michael to his parents’ for lunch. We were all sitting outside in the Winter sun. So delicious. But I know I can’t sit in the sun like that! I overheat, and all sorts of symptoms start rearing their stupid heads. But like always, I decided to test it to the limits. So when I stood up to walk back to the car, it was with difficulty, left foot dragging. We went shopping at the mini-mart, and I damn near kissed the pavement. You see, as far as I’m concerned, my brain has sent a message to my left foot to lift. Except it doesn’t. Still, no harm done. As soon as I’d cooled down I was fine again.

But for those fifteen/twenty minutes, I was suddenly rudely reminded of how a relapse feels. This is actually a critical month for me. Though I am feeling great, I have a month to go before I’ve beaten my previous space between cortisone treatments. So that will be at the back of my mind for the next four weeks. But I refuse to consciously start worrying about things that don’t need to be worried about. I’m on treatment. It seems to be working.

I’m becoming quite attached to taking my fingolimod every morning. It’s the sweetest little pink capsule. Love it!

My left ear is blocked. Think I got me a bit of ‘swimmer’s ear’. I should really go to the pharmacy tomorrow for some drops.

I did my yogalates yesterday morning. I can’t wait for this ‘whole new body’ that I’m supposed to be getting in 9 weeks time! (excluding the 3 weeks that I’ve been doing it). It doesn’t look all that different yet. (My body, that is.) But I must say, my core muscles are starting to feel…like they exist. lol.

Written by Maggie

June 29, 2007 at 10:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are doing so well with the swimming!!! I am so proud of you. Let’s hope you don’t have a relapse anytime soon

    supermom

    June 29, 2007 at 10:30 pm

  2. Maggie darling, you have a gorgeous body!!!! We not even gonna mention relapse. Nee!

    Wenchy

    June 30, 2007 at 9:50 pm

  3. Wow it sounds like you are doing WONDERFULLY! Way to go on all the exercising. And yoga/pilates are slow acting but the results sneak up on you… suddenly you’ll fine you can can touch your toes etc. It’s great! I been going with yoga for 9.5 years.

    Well done. 🙂

    I really love your attitude to life. You sound really sweet and really fun.

    Jane
    http://janewsblog.blogspot.com/

    birthbuddy

    July 3, 2007 at 11:47 am


Leave a Reply

