Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Chi Kung, take two…

with one comment

Did I mention that I love the yogalates workout? I’m onto my fourth week of doing it (a minimum of 3x per week). I can already feel the difference quite plainly. My posture is better, my core muscles stronger and my back/ hips more stable. Case in point: I was able to shave my legs in the bath yesterday with no trouble whatsoever. It’s been the bane of my life in recent times. Sounds like a simple enough task, but it was absolutely killing me. I mean, if one is not limbre enough to shave one’s own legs, then one is truly in deep sh*t!

I used to go for way too long between shaves. Luckily, I have fine, blonde hair on my legs, but still. I was scared someone would mistake me for a yeti, and shoot me with a tranquiliser gun and tag me!

No longer a problem, though, and I look forward to a smooth future, lol. (Generally, and with regard to my legs).

I’ve had a lovely couple of days. On Sunday, I had a MSN Chat ‘date’ with a very dear friend, who’s now living in the UK. We haven’t spoken in the longest time, but we picked up the threads of our friendship immediately. That was a lot of fun.

And today my sister came to visit me, which was great. We have a very close relationship, and I hate that she lives in Jo’burg now and I don’t get to see her as often as I’d like. However, I love that she’s a teacher and gets four holidays a year, of which she spends at least a week here at my parents’ house, which is only half an hour’s drive away from me. Twenty minutes if Michael is driving, lol.

I can’t really get into the chi kung exercises. And I have tried, but it’s hard doing it out of a book. I love the yogalates dvd because I feel like part of the class. So, I did a search on kalahari.net, and found a chi kung dvd. It’s been discounted to a very reasonable price (R116). I’m quite excited about that (yes, I am going to order it), as I am supposed to be doing these exercises as part of Dermot o’ Connor’s Healing Code. I’m doing quite well with the diet aspect, brilliant with the (chemical) detox**, if I do say so myself, but I have to knuckle down and do the healing chi kung (or Qi Gong, as they’re also called) exercises for the full effect. A dvd is so interactive, and frankly, I can’t make head or tail of some of those illustrations in the book.

**The book recommemds that we detox our lives of all the harmful household chemicals that we live with. I’m streets ahead there. Did that years ago, after I developed an intolerancy to them.

Written by Maggie

July 3, 2007 at 5:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey,

    Goodluck with the chi kung. It’s great for helping balance our internal systems. It is hard to learn it from a video if you’ve never had any instruction from a teacher. And forget about a book. Books and videos are a great supplement if you’ve learned basic stances and moves from a teacher.

    Having said that, don’t let it stop you. There are a lot of different chi kung sets out there. Do you know who the person is and if they call it anything in particular? The 8 pieces of broacade is a good starter set, and there’s a guy named garipoli who does something called wuji chi kung which is pretty good.

    Mike Ferruggia

    April 22, 2009 at 7:17 pm


Leave a Reply

