Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

with 3 comments

Remember a while ago when I was waxing lyrical about washing the dishes? Or rather, being able to wash the dishes. Well, lately I’ve been getting complacent about it. It kind of lost its novelty, know what I mean? Ha ha.

Then last week, I hit the skids a bit again. Suddenly, washing dishes seemed like a major attraction once more, lol. I have to laugh at myself sometimes.

Thing is (and it took me a while to jerry to this) my MS reacts to PMS hormones. It’s happened too many times to be coincidence. Indeed, it’s become my catch-phrase. I can handle one or the other (PMS or MS) but not on the same day. And I’m not just talking about the usual irritability, of which I am normally fairly immune (although M might disagree! 😉 ) No, I’m talking about actual exacerbation of MS symptoms. To the extent that I think I’m starting to have a relapse. I really thought (and was quite depressed at the prospect) that the Fingolimod wasn’t as good as I’d thought, and that I was indeed having (another!) relapse. This week, it seems to have receded. Thankfully.

My mom mentioned to me that there seems to be a correlation between the two. I kind of  knew this, but this was the first time that I realised that the correlation may be bigger than I’ve thought.

Is this why women are twice as likely to get MS than their male counterparts? Is this why pregnancy is generally so beneficial to MS? I know there are actually trials currently in place testing the clinical effect of the pregnancy hormone, estriol, on MS. What is the missing link here? It’s right under our noses. And yet, why are there men that get MS at all, if this is the case? Makes no sense.

On the other hand, PMS can be a bitch, and generally makes everything seem worse. I think the chocolate industry owes a lot to PMS, I really do.

I did a yogalates session this morning. I was getting a bit bored with it, honestly, but it turned out to be a very successful workout. And for the first time, I was able to do all the ‘moves’ properly. Progress indeed. I’ll give it another month and then I’m moving on to Workout 2.  Success does breed success. My abs may not look like much yet, but they are starting to feel like, dare I say it…steel! No, only kidding. But they are feeling tighter than their former, droopy-drawers selves, for sure.

Written by Maggie

July 10, 2007 at 3:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have found the same thing with my AS. It does react to the PMS side of me and they throw a mean party together!

    Wenchy

    July 10, 2007 at 3:11 pm

  2. PMS & I are not good friends – I don’t like PMS, but PMS likes me (LOTS). The day before my period, I’m a monster and need to put myself in solitary confinement so as not to hurt my nearest and dearest. My kids know that when I close myself in my room and say do not disturb or face the consequences, that PMS is in the house.

    The week of my period, I really battle with my depro and I am so glad that I’m on meds and as stable as can be expected. I have a wobble every period phase. Sad thing is that my body is inclined to ‘nest’ every 21 days for 7 days – fun way to spend life.

    Cheryl

    July 11, 2007 at 8:44 am

  3. Here I am saying HI again. Twice in the same week!! Snow for everyone! :o)

    Wenchy

    July 11, 2007 at 7:19 pm


Leave a Reply

