Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Born Anglican

with 3 comments

I went to church with my mom on Sunday, for the first time in years. Well, I did go last year, but that was for a christening. And the year before I went for a dedication.

MS has been a convenient excuse (though mostly valid, especially with the sore back and all the kneeling required). But I’m more than okay to go again, and I really feel that I need to go.

I was raised an Anglican. Now, Anglicanism is steeped in tradition. There’s a specific service that is read every Sunday for the Eucharist (Holy Communion). Since I was little, they did the sung, or chanted, service, where the priest chants something and then the congregation sing, or chant, it back. It is very beautiful, I hadn’t realised how much I’d missed it. I have memories of yawning my head off in church and not paying attention when I was a kid, but on Sunday, the service was so familiar and dear that tears sprang to my eyes. I hope that this means that I am maturing spiritually, even if just a little. Some parts of the Anglican Prayer-book date back to the 1500’s. One could say that something that old has no place in this modern age, but then, something that has stood the test of time and lasted so long, must have something to it. It is very comforting to chant the service, as familiar to us Anglicans as breathing.

I don’t mind a bit of happy-clappy. Nothing wrong with that. But my roots are Anglican, and we’re a staid bunch. It felt like coming home when I walked into that church. There is no strict dress-code. I actually wore jeans, because I didn’t take dressy clothes with for  my visit at my parents. And no-one looked at me askance. I was welcomed warmly and told how good it was to see me.

Michael and I were married in that church, St. Anne’s. The same priest that married us is still there, and he was sincerely happy to see me. He shook my hand so warmly, and as we left, he said it’s good to see me looking so well. He said that I stood up and fought back, and said “not me!” (he was referring to my health). I was very touched by that.

All in all, in was a very good experience for me. I intend to become the regular church-goer that I used to be again.

Going to church makes a lot of sense to me. Of course, one needs to find a church where one is comfortable, and feel spiritually stimulated, otherwise what’s the point? My viewpoint is this: at it’s crux, we go to church to praise God with other people. I for one am not disciplined enough to praise and sing all on my own. (Well, apart from bedtime prayers, and I often fall asleep, shamefully enough). If one is disciplined enough to praise and sing, read the  bible etc. on one’s own, then great. But a lot of us need some encouragement, and that is why I think the church is important and has its place. And the sense of community garnered from it is important, too.

I can’t wait to go again. Never thought I’d say it. I wasn’t the most enthusiastic church-goer all the years that my sister and I dutifully attended with my mom. But I’m so glad she took us, because some very important foudations were laid. I hope I get the opportunity to drag my own kids to church one day, lol.

Written by Maggie

July 19, 2007 at 10:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad you went and felt that. You won’t believe but I have been feeling that maybe I should look for a church again…who knows lol

    supermom

    July 19, 2007 at 2:56 pm

  2. I’m a die-hard catholic boy and in the early years of my children’s lives, I was so durned tired all the time that Sunday Mass just slipped by. In the last two years, I’ve been involved in Sunday School and the 8am mass is a regular habit for the kids now. Of course, the stop off at Dunkin Donuts right after church ends may have something to do with that …

    Might be an ego thing for me … Daddy hauling the 2 great threats of modern mankind (my twins) to be reformed by the grace of God …

    mdmhvonpa

    July 19, 2007 at 3:47 pm

  3. Oooh it would be super exciting if you have kids one day (can I be your doula!?) 😉

    I never grew up with a church tradition at all, but I can see how it could be nice, and comforting…

    Enjoy it!

    I love how well and happy you are sounds these days (when you don’t have PMS – although even then you can laugh at yourself, so it’s all good)

    Thanks for the BB comment! 🙂 I haven’t displayed that cos I am keeping that blog more businessy and comment free, but I really appreciated it,

    My chatty blog is at:
    http://janewsblog.blogspot.com/ which you are welcome to comment-spam 🙂

    Jane

    birthbuddy

    July 25, 2007 at 8:47 pm


Leave a Reply

