Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

with 4 comments

Mmmm, this will have to be a shortish post. I’ve become a leetle bit of a Facebook addict! Due to it my eyes are a bit strained and I have annoying reflex tears running down my cheeks the whole time. Pesky!

Just had to tell this story, though. We had some electricians in yesterday to check if all our electrics are up to scratch etc as the flats are changing ownership. One of the guys made a casual remark that our flat was the nicest one of all the ones he had worked on. And I’m pretty sure he meant it in the context of cleanest/ most respectable. Well! That was quite a shocker. I wondered briefly what the other flats must look like, ha ha.

Thing is, I am not the tidiest person out there. And neither is Michael (sorry, Honey). Which is actually a good thing. Better that we’re both a bit piggy than for one of us to be completely anally retentive about tidiness and nagging at the other one all day about it. There does tend to be a bit of a scurry if we get unexpected guests (which we seldom do) but not too bad.

But after the electrician’s remark, I looked around our home with new eyes. I had tidied up a bit, and actually, it looked really nice. I’m always apologising for it, but the fact is I really love my home. It’s a bit more cluttered than I’d like (M and I have committed to performing the mother of all spring-cleans when it starts warming up a bit) but it’s got a lovely warm feel to it. The walls are painted a  nice off-white, creamy colour and the colours we’ve used, albeit haphazardly, are warm, earthy tones. And our decor may verge on being ever-so-slightly kitsch, but it’s us and I love it. I will never apologise for it again.

I don’t know if it’s because I am maturing (eek!) or if the MS has changed me, but I am quite a bit tidier and more organised than I used to be. I still have the tendency to reset to ‘piggy’ but there’s definite improvement. Especially now that I have a bit more energy. More about that and the Quantec therapy at a later date.

Speaking about energy, I had a quiet day today, and feel the better for it. Unfortunately, my energy doesn’t carry over to the next day, much like free cell-phone minutes at the end of the month 😉 So if I have a bit over at the end of the day, I try to use it on some admin task or other.

Last night and this morning, I was upset. Over the little matter of not being able to feel my right leg and toes. This is not so debilitating in itself, but it’s not a very good sign. I have never had a relapse yet that didn’t start with the toes on my right leg feeling numb. I feel better emotionally now. I remembered how far I have come over the past two years and I’m not about to let a little numbness throw me. I’ve dealt with worse. It will either improve on its own, or it won’t and I’ll go to hospital and take steroids for it. I’ve done it many times before. It’s unpleasant, but I can handle it. The last thing I’m going to do now is lose any sleep over it.

Gee, this post turned out to be way longer than I intended. Could be because I haven’t been watching the screen so much, and my eyes got a rest.

On a final note, one of my dear friends (and family member) is going through a very rough patch in her life. She knows who she is, and if she reads this, I’d like her to know that she’s in our thoughts and prayers. I know she’ll get through this, being the strong and determined person that she is. Chin up. We’re there for you.

Written by Maggie

August 2, 2007 at 9:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tidy? Ha. I laugh in the face of tidy! 🙂

    Michael

    August 3, 2007 at 9:31 am

  2. Hi Maggs

    Glad to hear you are doing good these days. I’m too scared to even look at Facebook, I have a very addictive personality, and I already spend too much time reading blogs and looking at Flickr.

    Strange how we all feel that our homes are inadequate and we need to apologise. I do the same and yet I wonder – why should I?

    Sorry that you have the numbness, thinking positively, it WILL be OK and get better quickly all by its self.

    Re the friend, my thoughts are with her too. I wish there was more that we could do. I’m just so glad to know that she is surrounded by loving and caring family and close best friends. Please give her a hug from me.

    Regards
    Cheryl

    dolphin1

    August 3, 2007 at 9:34 am

  3. “Thing is, I am not the tidiest person out there. ”

    Now now, you are just being modest. Take the compliment graciously.

    mdmhvonpa

    August 3, 2007 at 7:03 pm

  4. I really like your flat. Each home must have personality and yours does.
    I hope the foot/leg thing clears up by it’s own self. Like you say though, taking some steriods won’t be the end of the world.
    I love you guys. Much.

    supermom

    August 3, 2007 at 9:03 pm


Leave a Reply

