Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Cutest thing ever.

with 4 comments

The cutest thing happened at the gym today. I swam 32 lengths (that’s not the cute part, keep reading). On my last length I saw a little girl on the far side of the pool, waiting for her swimming lesson from the instructor. I smiled at her and said hello. She gave the most shy little smile and said, almost inaudibly, hello, back at me.

I swam back to the other side where the step ladder is and got out. I battled a little, like I always do when getting out the pool (although I have to say, it is getting easier). I walked, leaning on my walker, round the corner to where the ladies locker rooms are. There is a heavyish hydraulic door at the entrance which is a little difficult to navigate with a walking aid. But as I rounded the corner, I saw that the door was being held open for me by my little friend, the girly at the pool. She’s probably about five years old, maybe even younger.

This is not the first time she’s held the door for me, but previously, I thought it was just coincidence, and that she was on her way out anyway. But today it dawned on me that she was especially waiting for me, to hold open the door. She was actually hiding behind the door, I had to peep ’round to see her. I asked her whether she is English or Afrikaans speaking. She answered Afrikaans, and I told her she’s very kind and has beautiful manners. I’m actually sorry I didn’t make more of a fuss and ask her her name. I think when she saw me getting out the pool she ran around the back way, through the gym, to meet me at the door. It’s about the third or fourth time it’s happened. What a little darling. I suppose her mother, who was also sitting there, could have sent her, but I got the idea that it was on her own initative. She gave me the sweetest little dimply smile, and my heart completely melted. Even now, I feel all warm and fuzzy thinking of that precious little madam.

Oh, and I nearly forgot, for more warm and fuzzy feelings, go check out ‘video of the year’ at YOUTUBE.

Written by Maggie

August 3, 2007 at 5:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is SO SWEET!! Speaking of sweet, and warm fuzzy feelings, check out THIS You Tube video – and they’re in South Africa! (So maybe you’ve heard about it?)

    Donna

    August 4, 2007 at 12:00 am

  2. Your recollection of this girls kind heart and action has left me feeling warm and fuzzy … her parents should be proud of her, hey. Thanks for sharing it.

    BTW, I tagged you for the Name Meme

    Addie

    August 4, 2007 at 9:36 pm

  3. Oh how sweet was that Maggie. Thanks for sharing that with us xxx

    Mom Archer

    August 7, 2007 at 10:39 am

  4. Life is hard and we all need a hug richy x

    rich

    August 14, 2007 at 3:24 am


Leave a Reply

