Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Loooong time, no blog!

with 4 comments

How did I go from being so obsessed with blogging to being so lackadaisical about it?

I asked myself this question and came to a rather unfortunate answer… I’ve been feeling too good to blog. I’ve had precious little to moan/ complain about. I don’t know if this is strictly true or if it has just coincided with my discovering facebook. I suspect the former, however. Blogging has always been therapy for me, and for a while there it was one that I had no need of. But fear not, I have some grievances up my sleeve to get the ball rolling again, lol.

First things first, though. I just have to say how tremendously proud I am of my dad. Last week, he climbed Mount Kilimanjaro, highest mountain in Africa. Also fourth highest in the world, and highest alone-standing mountain in the world! He has a brilliant photo of himself on Uhuru peak (highest point in Africa) holding up his arms triumphantly. It took him six days of hiking to summit and return to base camp. A real achievement at any age, and even more so at 64. But then, my dad’s a very young 64, obviously. He came home with sunburnt lips (from the reflection off the ice and snow) and many entertaining stories to tell us. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t the best. Even though it’s the dry season, it rained for four out of the six days. No guarantees with the weather, hey. But in spite of the rain, he took some really stunning photo’s. What an experience!!

This week, I am into Connie Francis’ Where the Boys Are and also lots of Johnny Cash. Think ‘Ring of Fire’ played four times consecutively, ha ha. M and I are going through a bit of a ‘phase’, what can I say.

Less than a week till his departure to Italy. Yikes! Don’t really like the idea of him being so far from home. How do wives with globe-trotting husbands do it? I guess you get used to it. But I will frankly feel better when he is safely back in South Africa, where he belongs – here with me. I do wish him a wonderful trip, though and hope he acquires some unforgettable memories and has a fab time.

The first heat of an early summer has hit, and knocked me back a few paces. We went to Pick ‘n Pay hypermarket yesterday, and I felt quite pooped afterwards. And not pooped as in, ‘let me lie down for five minutes’. Pooped as in, ‘hey, all of a sudden I can’t walk so good’. I couldn’t understand this, as the previous week I was walking around the big shopping malls in Jo’burg with Michael when we went to apply for his Italian passport. This was quite a dream come true, but obviously the acknowledgement of it was a bit premature. Then I realised the reason for yesterday’s speed-wobble. The heat. Duh.

I’ve gone from loving Summer and hating Winter to the complete opposite. Although, no, I could never really hate Summer, but it does put a bit of a damper on my activities.

That has got to be the one most frustrating aspect of MS. What I was able to do with ease yesterday, I won’t necessarily be able to do tomorrow. At all. I cannot get used to the inconsistency that is MS.  

Speaking of the trip to the hypermarket – I could get into some serious trouble going to town without my glasses. While we were waiting in the queue for the till, I read a big sign saying ‘Free Bonking’. Sjoe! This sure wasn’t the provincial town I had grown up in. Free Bonking indeed! What had the world come to? Tut-tut. As we got closer, I saw that the sign actually read, ‘Free Banking‘. Phew. That did make more sense, actually.

I never did get around to discussing the session I had on the Quantec machine. So I will do so now. Basically it was your average bio-feedback session. I found it way better than the one I went to some months back, though. The practitioner is a real sweetie. Interesting things that came up: it didn’t specifically show that I have MS, but it did show up some damaged nerves in my brain. Not cool, but I did know that. You kind of make the connection when you can’t (with confidence, anyway) command your various body parts like you used to. 

It also showed up that I am on medication. So, no placebo this time ’round. Unfortunately, it referred to said medicine as a psycho-stimulant with abuse potential. Also that it’s toxic. Oh well, can’t win ’em all. And show me a medication that isn’t toxic and I’ll show you a placebo.

Most interestingly of all, it showed that I am the proud owner of both radioactive uranium and polonium in my system! Now, I have been convinced for years that it was the mining activities in my immediate enviironment, growing up, that kick-started my MS. And what is a by-product of mining? That’s right, radioactive uranium. I’m like a comic book hero that was exposed to a radioactive contaminent, and now has special powers. My special powers are walking very convincingly like a drunk if I get too hot And, due to lack of sensation, being 100% un-ticklish. If I was ever captured as a spy, they would never get me to reveal state secrets by subjecting me to torture by tickling. No siree. And I used to be so ticklish!

Good news is: I did some research, and it is possiblew to chellate uranium out of one’s system. I did a loto f chellation some years back, but not for uranium. I don’t want to get too excited yet, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t holding out some hope that might put a stop to all this BS that is MS.

The Quantec machine itself is supposed to help with detoxing whatever needs to be detoxed. And I have been feeling better. Between that and the medication, anyway. The heat is catching me a bit at the moment, and tomorrow is only the first official day of Spring. But I have improved so greatly recently that I see no reason to doubt that I will improve 100% still.

Written by Maggie

August 31, 2007 at 5:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ‘Ring of Fire’ … one of my favorites. Glad to see you online again.

    mdmhvonpa

    August 31, 2007 at 7:38 pm

  2. My word…what an entry after none for such a long time 🙂 I’m sure you are going to miss your hubby while he is gone. Hopefully he will be able to contact you lots via all the modern technology available.
    Today is really a spring day hey…

    Melany aka Supermom

    September 1, 2007 at 12:40 pm

  3. I love it when you come back to blogging with such a bang!!! Interesting story about you not wearing your glasses!!! LOL!! I must add that I was hoping to see at least picture of your dad’s trip to the mountains …

    Enjoy your hubby before he jets off to Italy …

    Addie

    September 2, 2007 at 12:12 pm

  4. You are sounding and looking wonderful!

    I am so thrilled that you have all this positive and productive stuff going on.

    Exciting!

    Jane
    http://janewsblog.blogspot.com/

    birthbuddy

    September 3, 2007 at 1:06 pm


Leave a Reply

