Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

with one comment

Okay, where was I?

Oprah was really good. Very inspirational segment about a guy who left his job (as CEO of Microsoft!!) and dedicated his life to bringing books to third-world, illiterate children, who had never even seen a book before.  It was one of Oprah’s Pay-it-forward episodes. Very, very good.

My angle (angle no.564, at least) on MS yesterday was that sometimes it surprises one. I had such a good day yesterday. Swam like a maniac (1km, if you recall) and when I got out the pool I was fine. Only used my walker for the slightest support, and that only because I didn’t want to put my back out again. It is out again, though, so now I’m just leaving it to its own devices! It’s being such a brat.

Now for the importance of amino acids. I got sent an email in  the week by a lady in Stellenbosch, in the Cape, telling me about a project (trials, actually) where ‘they’ are trying to deduce the clinical benefit of certain vitamins and nutrients on MS. They’ve already done preliminary trials, and there was a very impressive scientific article attached to the email, including before and after MRI shots. Looks quite promising. The gist of it was that remyelination is constantly taking place, but requires a LOT of energy and nutrients. This is something that I have always been very interested in, and doing on an on-off basis. She sent the exact ‘recipe’ of the various vitamins, minerals. etc to be taken. Included in this, were the nine essential amino-acids. She says you can get them from a good diet-milkshake. So this morniing I went to town and got some on the vitamins and a good quality shake. I’m very pleased about this, because it’s going to help me meet my protein requirements for the day and ensure that I don’t lose weight any further. See, two birds…

I know some people get really irritated at a thin person worrying about their weight. The way I see it though is that anything too far in either direction of one’s ideal weight is a problem. Unfortunately, the media tries to sell us this image of skinny being sexy, which is just not right. I do not feel sexy at all when I’m underweight. I feel like a bag of bones, hips and collar-bones jutting out – it’s not a good look at all. I’d actually rather be a couple of kilo’s over than under if I must choose. And people feel totally justified in making remarks if one is underweight. I’m always amazed at how strangers feel as if they can comment on my weight, and have a look on their face like I should be flattered about it!

I actually think I may have a bit of a problem with digestion and more particularly, assimilation of foods. I’m taking digestive enzymes, which seem to be helping though.

If anyone is interested in the MS vitamin-regime, let me know, and I’ll email it to you.

Written by Maggie

October 6, 2007 at 12:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m interested in the vitamin regime, I’m curious if it is similar to the Best Bet Diet one, or the simplicity of what Betty Iams suggests. xo

    Donna

    October 6, 2007 at 7:02 pm


Leave a Reply

