Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Little Miss Tactless

with 2 comments

Seems like I keep putting my foot solidly in my mouth this month. I made another silly remark without thinking, and I could have bitten my tongue off! Now the dilemma is, do I say something about it and stress that I never meant anything by it. (I didn’t!) Or do I shut up and just hope that the remark flew under the radar and didn’t offend anyone. In which case, it might offend them if I brought it up again, saying that I never meant it like that, making them wonder why I would even think the remark applied to them in the first place.

Sjoe. If the person concerned happens to read my blog (I’ve completely lost track of who reads my blog among my personal acquaintances), and thinks this whole diatribe might be about them, and they were offended by something I said, let me just make a general apology for my big, fat mouth! Sometimes I don’t think things through, what can I say…?

I think I am too sensitive about stuff like this, because half the time, if I mention something  like this, people laugh it off and say they didn’t think twice about whatever it was I said. I’m going to have to learn to pre-authorise my thoughts, lol.

I felt so down-in-the-dumps this morning. My back was aching and I felt completely wiped out. Only got up at about half-past nine, ate, and then had to go back to bed. I never, ever sleep or nap during the day. It’s a knack I never learnt, I have to be half dead before I go to bed during the day. Like my nephew Douglas says, “Once I’m up, I’m up”.  But this morning I had to go and lie down for a bit. I felt just plain weird. I’m thinking it might be due to the iron supplementation that I started yesterday. That came to a screeching halt today, lemme tell you! 

 But then during lunch I made a courageous comeback, and we went shopping for groceries which was fun.

I never thought I’d say it, but I am SO looking forward to the World Cup Final this weekend. It is pretty entertaining, I’m finally getting it. The semi-final game with SA playing Argentina went really well. For us, that is. Not so good for Argentina. 37-13, I think the end score was, in our favour, of course. What I appreciated of Argentina was that they played the game with such passion. Towards the end, when it was becoming clear that they were going to lose, they started getting a bit aggressive. Yellow cards were flying around, and one Argentine punched one of our guys full in the face, It was quite funny, because he was shouting at someone else (the ref, could’ve been) and wasn’t even looking at the guy he punched. He just suddenly stuck out his left arm and punched the guy a solid blow in the face. 

When they lost, they looked so cut up about it. One guy actually threw himself face-down on the grass. I though he was going to start drumming his feet! And when asked about their game against France for 3rd and 4th place, they said that for them, the world cup is over. Actually, Michael said as much. He said that the game for 3rd and 4th is ridiculous, and instead of going home to lick their wounds, they have to be like performing monkeys on the field. Poor France. I had hoped that they would play in the finals, being the Hosting Country and all. Not to win it, mind. That slot has been reserved for us, and it is fitting that we’re playing the current World Champs, England. Interesting, too, as we came up against them in one of the opening games of the WC and trounced them! 36-0. Not that I think it will be an easy game against them in the final. They have really picked up their game since then, and are full of self-confidence.

Our guys are playing so well. Even someone such as myself who doesn’t know a great deal about the intricasies of the game, can see that. Our own Brian Habana, has tied the record (held by Jonah Lomu) for most tries scored in a World Cup. We’re all holding thumbs for him to score at least one try during the final, to beat that record!!

Written by Maggie

October 16, 2007 at 4:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh I love to throw myself on a guilt trip to…long after the whole ordeal is over or before it even started. HUGS
    Sorry you are feeling down in the dumps about that back. Been there…actually being there. Thinking of you

    Melany aka Supermom

    October 16, 2007 at 5:14 pm

  2. I’m so offended that you have not made an offending remark towards me. I WILL NOT BE IGNORED!

    mdmhvonpa

    October 16, 2007 at 7:20 pm


Leave a Reply

