Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Man, this is so upsetting…

with 2 comments

I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight. Why is this the first time I have heard about this and this? I mean, I know it’s reached epidemic proportions, but this is madness.

The last couple of years I haven’t exactly been green, but I have been developing an environmental conscience, if you will. Recently, I’ve started recycling where I can. I just feel we’re not doing enough, though. There needs to be HUGE steps taken. Recycling needs to become a massive industry. We have to stop making plastic and try and use the stuff we have already created. Plastic is man’s Frankinstein’s Monster.

When we go to the supermarket and buy fresh veg, it comes packaged on a polystyrene tray and wrapped in cling-wrap. Why this is, I don’t know. It certainly doesn’t prolong the shelf-life of the product. And as soon as we get home, the packaging is discarded, anyway. It serves no actual purpose, except to pollute the environment even more.

I’m getting myself quite worked up as I sit here typing, but it’s because I feel scared. Have we gone too far, or can we ever turn this thing around again???

Written by Maggie

October 31, 2007 at 10:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In the US, it IS a massive industry. Supported by the govt, paid for by the taxpayers. Unfortunately, the other countries using the Pacific do not feel the same way.

    Every week, I disposed of our household trash in a half full shopping bag… about 7lb of it … mostly dog poo. You cannot force ppl to recycle, but as Kyoto has shown, you can’t even get them to stick to their promises!

    mdmhvonpa

    November 1, 2007 at 12:40 am


Leave a Reply

