Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

The incognito walking aid.

with 2 comments

That would be the otherwise known as Shopping Trolley. Everyone with MS knows (or should know) this. Brilliant device to help keep balance and lean on if needs be, and none of the other shoppers are any the wiser.

Today M & I went shopping. I never know from one day to the next just how much I’ll be able to do before the mobility fatigue sets in, rendering me a bit of a wobbly mess, clinging to M like a (slightly drunk) limpet. I’m not an emotionally clingy woman, but M is often my substitute walker. My tall and sexy walker, I call him. My walker of preferance. Not sure how keen he is to be a walking, er…walker. But he never complains, and supports me so subtley that people mostly just think we’re a very affectionate couple. We are, though. Very affectionate. It’s just a handy coincidence that sometimes it’s by necessity.

I diverge. The shopping trip was a huge success. We went to Woolworths, which is quite a trot from the basement parking lot in the mall. Then we sallied on to the vitamin depot, followed by the health-shop (both of which I went in to alone) and finished off with a lightning quick dash in Pick ‘n Pay, the Hypermarket. That’s where the trolley came in handy. Oh, and we also went into the pharmacy next door. Quite a marathon shopping expedition for me, and did I mention it was baking hot? Really hot. Got home, packed away the groceries, washed out my water-distiller and put it on (quite a task), and I’m feeling ALL RIGHT! I live for these kinds of days, when I am normal Joe. Or normal Jane, whatever.

And did I mention I’m currently having a relapse? I don’t think I have. I have been complaining about the numbness in my legs a lot, though. Seems like the lesion is in my spine for a change. C4/C5, I think it’s placement is. I know, because that is where I got my very first lesion, the time I was diagnosed. And I have this to say for it: It really beats having a lesion on the brain! For example, this time round, I have no balance issues, no (additional) muscle weakness, no (increased) bladder problems, nothing. Hell, it’s practically a walk in the park by comparison.

There’s just the numbness (or paranthesis, as they call it) in my legs and feet. It’s not disabling as such, just annoying, creepy and a bit disturbing. I made the decision that I wouldn’t treat with cortisone. My feet were already too numb for me to drive comfortably, so what harm if they where a little more numb. Right up to my upper-thighs. Which is where I draw the line, by the way. Anything higher than upper-thigh and I make a plan.

This past week or so, things have been heating up a bit, and I don’t just mean the temperature. I have very weird symptoms at night for some reason. Tingling all over my body and burning patches, especially on my feet, and small, fleeting, but unignorably stabbing pains in random parts of my body. Unfortunately this is MS related and not a symptom that I have experienced before. Bummer. Worst of all, it is starting, in its insiduous way, to move into my hands. That is just plain not on! Very impacting on quality of life, when the hands start going. I haven’t able to do up buttons properly in years, but other than that, it’s not a major problem. And I’d like to keep it that way. So (heart sinkng to boots) I’m going to have to mainstream some of my old nemesis,  (but also) friend and stalwart ally- cortisone. 

Not going to go yet though. My high-school reunion is on Saturday, and if I go to the hospital now, I’ll be too a) depro, b) spotty c) knackered d) sorry for myself e) possibly aggressive,  to attend. So I’ll try and stretch it out to next week. Hopefully in the interim, I’ll undergo a little miracle recovery, rendering it unnecessary to go. I can hope, right?

While on the subject, I must add how annoying it is when people compare massive doses of IV cortisone, to the little oral pills that people take for various disorders. It is NOT the same thing. Oral cortisone comes in a 5mg tablet. And if people take 25mg a day, then it is considered a high dose. Compare that to a five day intravenous course, of 1000mg a day. That is 5000mg! It would take a person on a high dose of oral tablets 200 days to take the equivalent amount of a person taking high-dose intravenous. People always look at me like I’m over-reacting when I complain when I have to go for an IV session. This is why. Has anyone got any idea what that large a dose does to one’s adrenal system? It’s scary stuff, and I’m not going to pretend it’s not.

Okay, rant over. Although I do have one saved up for tomorrow, seeing as this post is getting a little long.

Till next time…

Written by Maggie

November 13, 2007 at 3:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally understand your apprehension of going on IV Solumedrol. And yes, it is completely different from oral prednisone. I take 10mg prednisone a day maintenance. It is upped or lowered depending on flares. If after 60to 100mg a day for 3 days does not fix me, then I give in to the IV. I won’t take any higher than 100mg oral, then a taper down to the 10mg maintenance dose.

    Saturday is still 4 days away. If you seriously think you are relapsing or flaring, you could be better by Saturday. If I were you, I would call your neuro and get some input on how he/she feels about oral prednisone (say for example 40mg) for 3 days, then 30mg for 1, then 20mg, for 1, then 10mg for 1, then quit just to get you over the hump of your party.

    If after it is all over and you still feel like the only recourse is IV, then at least you tried with smaller amounts of prednisone. IV is a more effective treatment for relapses; prednisone is a patch or quickfix to get over a flare that doesn’t seem as bad as an all out relapse.

    See what your neuro says. And have a good time at the reunion.
    Anne

    Anne

    November 13, 2007 at 8:23 pm

  2. You are just using M … FOR HIS BODY!!!

    Damn … lucky guy.

    mdmhvonpa

    November 16, 2007 at 10:05 pm


Leave a Reply

