Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

All detoxed up and nowhere to go… ;-)

with 3 comments

This morning I went for a Body Cleanse, which involves putting your feet in a basin of water with an element that causes the osmosis of toxins from your feet to the water. Beforehand, your readings are checked via the acupressure points on your fingers, and then these readings are compared to the ones taken after the detox. I know, it all sounds quite way-out, but it really works. You should see how filthy the water can look when the session is over.

I haven’t been for this treatment in ages. My initial readings were quite shockingly low. Even to me. After sitting with my feet in the deliciously cold water for an hour, the readings were looking quite a bit better.

And danged if I ain’t feeling a sight better, too!
(And no, it is not psychological. My feet feel less numb, and that counts for a lot).

I think I could stave off the dreaded (though beloved) C.O.R.T.I.S.O.N.E. for a while with this treatment. I certainly intend going again next week. Only problem is that it’s a R100 a pop, whereas the cort. is free on our medical aid. I think it may be worth it, though. We’ll see.

How classic a movie is Me, Myself and Irene? M & I caught the end of it during lunch. It was one of the first movies we went to watch as a couple and we laughed so hard that M got a mini asthma attack and had to go out the cinema to get some fresh air. Quite a deep and sometimes dark comedy in places. Certainly brought back some memories.

Written by Maggie

November 15, 2007 at 2:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Maggs. It has been quite some time since I last lurked and read your blog. I so love your writing style.

    I feel like I could do with a detox. My feet are always so sore – especially the heels. I feel like i’m too heavy – which i am – and it is eina to walk on them – the heel part is so sensitive. My back is also out of whack, and I’m taking strain. I still have restless leg syndrome – where my legs twitch or jerk for no reason, mainly when I lie down. Sometimes settling down to sleep I feel like I my legs are having a grande mal. Not proper. I worry as more and more frequently I am getting pins and needles in my feet and hands.

    If you don’t mind me asking how did your MS start, what were your symptoms and how did they finally diagnose you?

    PS – The cortizone IV does NOT sound like fun at all. Oh yes, and I agree, trolley’s are marvelous substitute walkers. Just not the right heght for me – I have to stoop a little which does the back no good.

    Keep smilling, keep writting.

    Cheryl

    November 15, 2007 at 3:49 pm

  2. Detox eh? I think that would be bad for the environment around here if I got one … I’m a giant bag of nastiness! ;P

    mdmhvonpa

    November 15, 2007 at 8:19 pm

  3. Maggie that is something I need to do too. Both Dad and I should. Glad you are going for this and it is helping.

    Love

    Mom

    Marié

    November 16, 2007 at 8:04 am


Leave a Reply

