Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

loving the skin you’re in…

with 4 comments

I’ve never had a problem with self-esteem in my life. Until recently, that is. All of a sudden, I had issues, felt that I wasn’t being a good enough version of myself. I wasn’t managing my MS properly for starters. How’s that for being hard on myself. It’s a chronic disease, that no-one knows the answers to, but I felt like I could be doing a better job of it.

I’ve been real hard on myself, berating myself for not having a killer career, and living up to my potential. For not eating better, not being tidier, not using my time more wisely, not contributing my fair share of the household expenses … and on and on.

I didn’t initially want to go to the reunion. I thought they’d tear me apart. What have I achieved, anyway?

Boy, was I wrong.

I’m not sure what happened on Saturday, but my self-esteem levels are back where they should be. I just realised that my friends like me for who I am, and not how much money I have in the bank, or what I do for a living. They like me for me. That was such a liberating realisation.

Maybe I just needed to get out and have a good time. I’ve been spending too much time on my own, brooding about rubbishy notions.

I dabbled half-heartedly and briefly in low self-esteem, but it just wasn’t me, y’ know. Sure, there’s always room for improvement, but deep down, I wouldn’t trade me for anyone in the world!

Big (((hug))) to me!!

Written by Maggie

November 20, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is a really pretty photo of you. Love it

    supermom

    November 20, 2007 at 10:01 pm

  2. Being a self-loathing depressive can be a lot of work sometimes. Much easier being jaded … but who has the time!

    ;P

    mdmhvonpa

    November 20, 2007 at 11:11 pm

  3. Yay Maggie! What a great entry. Gorgeous picture, too!

    Donna

    November 20, 2007 at 11:28 pm

  4. Hey Maggs, I think you are awsome just the way you are!!!! Lovely pic of you!!!!

    Gen

    November 21, 2007 at 6:51 am


Leave a Reply

