Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

My bad

with 2 comments

All I managed to do with yesterday’s Terry Pratchett post was to display my alarming ignorance in the fantasy genre (as well as html coding). Terry Pratchett is a satirist and of course he wouldn’t just put a nonsensical piece of fluff in his book. It was a cross reference to Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, and more specifically, the Gollum character. If I had read the Rings trilogy I would have known this.

Thankfully,  Shoshana kindly left a great comment and set me straight.

Gollum fits the description, lives in a water-filled cave. He speaks with a lot of s’s (even I knew that) and is always harping on about his ‘birthday present’ – the Ring.

How clever of Pratchett to pop that in, and how completely over my head it went. At least I learnt something today.

In the future I better shut up about things that I know nothing about, lol.

Written by Maggie

January 6, 2008 at 9:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Magdalena You speak of it being over your head. Well I cannot even see the water to pu in my big toe!

    Meldad

    January 6, 2008 at 6:37 pm

  2. Magdalena You speak of it being over your head. Well I cannot even see the water to put in my big toe!

    Meldad

    January 6, 2008 at 6:38 pm


Leave a Reply

