Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Progress

with 3 comments

I went to the gym on two consecutive days, which I don’t usually do. My dad was away on Wednesday (him and my mom took my granddad to the old-age home in Jo’burg where my granny is). So we ended up gymming yesterday and today. He has the Lake Heritage 1km swim coming up, so he can’t really afford to miss training.

As for me, I did 30 lengths yesterday, which is the most that I’ve done in a while, as well as 30 today. My stamina has increased so much compared to last year May when I started swimming at the gym and could barely swim 20 laps, and then had to rely very heavily on my walker to get to the changing room and to leave the gym.

I don’t even take it with to the gym anymore. My walker, that is. In fact, I don’t take it anywhere. I keep it next to my side of the bed in case I need it at night, but I never use it. I do use it when I bath, for ease of getting in and out, but that is purely out of habit, plus it’s a handy place to hang my towel. This is huge in my life. There was a time when I not only took it with wherever I went, but I actually needed it to get to the car! I feel so free, but it was so gradual that I didn’t make enough of a fuss about it.

There are so many small things that have improved for me this year. Between the trial meds and the regular physical exercise, I have rehabilitated beyond any hopes that I had for 2007.

I definitely have more energy (read: not zero). I can walk longer distances before becoming fatigued. My walking itself is stonger and more stable. My balance is loads better! My eyesight has improved. I don’t have to sit on public toilet seats anymore! (Yuck, I hate doing that). I can ‘hover’ again thanks to buff thighs.

I can also do tasks that just weren’t possible, like making up our queen-size bed. Previously, my back was just too sore, even if I did have the energy (I didn’t!) I can also do the dishes without having to rest half way through because my legs are sagging and I have to hang onto the wash-basin, feeling like my back is being split in two.

It’s little things like this that are making life so much more fun. Michael and I can go to the movies again if we feel like it, and it’s not a major ordeal.

I look forward to the day when I can climb on my bicycle and go for a ride with him. That will truly be a red-letter day. And I know it is coming!

We are thinking of going with to Lake Heritage next week to support my dad, cousin and nieces for the big swim. My mom and pregnant baby sis will be there too, and we’ll have a picnic lunch while the others are swimming. There is a small problem of a total lack of toilets there. There are two available for all those swimmers. I don’t know where the rest of us are supposed to go. Especially those of us with weak MS bladders.

Written by Maggie

January 11, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice to see you blogging more often; it is very cathartic.

    I can’t believe the energy you have! Good work!

    Re: weak bladders. I hear ya. Go online and see what is close to where you are going to be (i.e. department stores, restaurants, etc.) and maybe that will be a little more managable for running to potty. I hate those portapotties!

    Take care,
    Anne

    Anne

    January 11, 2008 at 6:49 pm

  2. 30 laps … wow … more than I could manage in a week!

    mdmhvonpa

    January 11, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  3. Sounds like you are doing superbly. I hope you manage to get out to the lake and that you find a way around the toilet problem!

    Jane

    January 12, 2008 at 5:39 pm


Leave a Reply

