Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Power to the people. (Please?)

with one comment

I was lucky to have posted early in the day yesterday because we did not have much in the way of electricity yesterday from 4pm until way after 9pm. This whole load shedding thing is getting very tedious.

I try and do things that require electricity early in the day. My water distiller is working its little butt off as we speak. It needs 6 hours to do a load of four litres. We’ve gotta look sharp, I tell you. And I just plain don’t drink tap water anymore. I hardly even want to use it to rinse my mouth when I brush my teeth. (Just kidding about that last bit. Kindof.)

Michael (my hero) took charge when the lights went out (again) and lit a whole bunch of candles. It was not romantic at all. If we could have powered the tv with candles maybe it would have been. We were excited about the premiere episode of the third season of Boston Legal. Our favourite.  But it was not to be. Luckily, it is on series channel, so it repeated at 9am. Otherwise we may have been very bitter indeed.

My brother, who has his own electrical business is at least making money from the blackouts, installing generators for businesses who are losing massive amounts of revenue due to the blackouts.

There’s a bit of a joke going around.

Q; What did South Africans use before candles?

A: Electricity.

Ha ha -not-so-funny- ha.

I’ve actually come to the conclusion that M & I (along with most people in the civilised world) are much too dependent on electricity. For basic needs and for entertainment. We have fallen into the trap of spending our evenings in front of the tv (him) or in front of the computer (me). I’m not saying we don’t spend time together. We do. We can spend hours talking to each other and never run out of things to talk about. We can also entertain ourselves without the need for electricity (and I’m not even talking about the bedroom. Minds, gutters, etc.) We have spent many a happy hour building puzzles together, playing suduko most competitively, listening to music together for hours, very companionably taking turns playing DJ (although I guess that falls under: entertainment reliant on electricity). This power shortage thing has made me realise maybe we need to get back to our roots a bit.

I see yesterday someone did a search on ‘maggsbunny’ to find me. I googled myself and was quite alarmed to see all the results for Maggsbunny. I am the only Maggsbunny in the world! Seems like.

Update on fever blister: still there, still sore, but over the worst. Huge blister fortunately hidden entirely under my lip. Fortunately, because it looks gross. Unfortunately, because there’s no way I can keep that sucker dry.

Turns out eating chocolate is really bad for a fever blister. Eating fruit and  veg, on the other hand, is very good for it.  This is true, I can vouch for it. If I have fruit for breakfast, it doesn’t bother me as all. Chocolate, on the other hand, makes it hurt like hell. Also toast with jam on. When that jam hit the blister I had reflex tears in my eyes. It stung. So I’m thinking, stick with the fruit! Now, if only I was (supposed to be) on a diet where I ate mainly fruit and veg. Oh wait! That’s right. I am!

Written by Maggie

January 15, 2008 at 11:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wrote a post about our lack of power last night as well. Will post it a bit later on. I at least had some battery power left on my laptop lol

    Melany

    January 15, 2008 at 12:22 pm


Leave a Reply

