Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

leave a comment »

I am so tired. I was about to pop off to bed when I remembered I hadn’t done an entry today yet.

Frankly, this business of having committed to an entry every day of January is fast becoming a leetle bit of a pain in the ass. I think when January is done I may never blog again. At least not for a  month anyway.

Today was a very lovely day. We even had electricity for most of the day, apart from a brief break at about 4pm. Not too bad. My sis-in-law and I had a bit of a disturbing conversation about what is happening in the morgues while the power is off. I really hope they have some sort of back-up power there! Another disturbing story was of a woman who had a scheduled C-section delivery of her baby. The power went off right in the middle of the op. The doc had made the incision and had just finished sealing up the blood vessels (for which he needed an electric-powered tool). He still had to stitch her up which wasn’t a problem, but he said if it had happened two minutes earlier she might have bled to death. The hospital has a back-up generator but for some reason it didn’t kick over onto it when the main power was absent. Scary stuff. I think that load-shedding should really include a clause that emergency services should be supplied with power at all times. And also the traffic lights, to prevent people from needing emergency services.

But back to the lovely day. M and I left home at 4pm when the lights tripped, and only got home again at 10pm. We spent the whole afternoon visiting people and having actually a really nice time.

But now I really need to get some shut-eye.

Written by Maggie

January 19, 2008 at 11:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

