Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

MS-musings

with 3 comments

The other day, my dear SIL commented that I am doing well, and that I seem to have changed my attitude re: my MS.

I reflected on this afterwards, and it is true. I have changed my attitude – I am coping with it better, I have more acceptance of the things which I can’t do, and more focus on the things which I can do. (A lot of which fell in the former category and now falls in the latter).

But. I cannot take credit for the change of heart myself.

It is easy to be positive when you are getting better on a daily basis. When there is no longer an onslaught of relapses or steady progression taking you down. Things which I wasn’t able to do last month, and now am able to do become the focal point in a very natural manner, with little effort from me.

I am happy for myself, but my heart hurts. For my friends (and the thousands that I don’t know personally) that have yet to discover their magical elixir. That which can tame their MS. Stop progression, or at least slow down progression sufficiently.

It is the most demoralizing thing in the whole world when you are trying everything you possibly can, and your efforts are greeted with yet another relapse or new symptom. Or the realization that something you were capable of two months ago is now out of your reach. It makes you cry and when your tears are finished, then you cry some more on the inside.

I so hope and pray that Fingolimod is going to help many, many people the way it has helped me.

Most importantly, it has given me a break from the continuous onslaught, to regroup and continue my campaign for better health with renewed vigour.

Written by Maggie

January 30, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sometimes, we don’t want progress … we just want to stop slipping back … to catch our breath. No?

    mdmhvonpa

    January 30, 2008 at 8:04 pm

  2. I don’t even know what to say. But yes….I’m glad that you are able to do so much more than a year ago…or even just a month ago. I’m glad things are looking up. It is such a helpless feeling when we want to do anything and everything to make things better for you and it is not in our hands to do so.

    supermom

    January 31, 2008 at 12:08 pm

  3. You have been sounding much happier and more upbeat and positive recently. It’s great. You really sound like such a lovely person. I hope your good health continues and that you keep improving as you have been – you really deserve it, and have/do work so hard for it.

    Jane

    BirthBuddy

    February 3, 2008 at 3:38 pm


Leave a Reply

