Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Update on M’doggie

with 4 comments

Poor M’dog. Just spoke to my mom, and the critter is lying very quietly under the kitchen table. I hope she’s going to be all right.

I said to my mom on the phone that M’dog is a loved one of ours. Then we both sort of teared up a bit because it is true. We loved her from the first moment we saw her when my dad brought her home. She was tiny, only four weeks old, and so scared. She clung to our arms with her tiny little puppy paws wrapped around them.

We spoilt her completely rotten the first few months. She had a hot water bottle every night in her little box, made of a 2L coke bottle. In fact, some nights she was actually in the bed with my mom and dad, totally unprecedented let me tell you.

We were all a bit in love with her. And as a result, she grew into a really naughty puppy. We even had to get a dog trainer in to teach her some manners. Michael and I were engaged at the time, and everytime he came to visit, she was all over him like a rash.
When we got married, my mom used to tease Michael by telling him that Sandy (aka M’dog) was our wedding present. Ha ha.

Anyway, she’s mellowed over the years, and is just such a character. So affectionate. She greets me like absolute royalty when I go and visit there. I am very fond of her.

So say a little prayer for her tonight that she’ll be okay.

Stix is definitely persona non grata. (Dogsona non grata?) Apparently she was in disgrace this morning already before the fight even happened. She jumped my dad from behind, nearly pushing him over. That dog makes everyone accident prone.

Even Michael has said he hates that dog, and he really loves dogs. She is so unpleasant that I don’t even feel guilty about her going away.

Annie (baby sis) is the only one who said ‘ag shame’ and seems to think the dog has any redeeming qualities. But I really don’t think she’ll want that dog anywhere near her baby, once she’s born.

Guess what? 4 chocolate free days. Yay. Feeling more relaxed already and not so frenetically after chocolate fix all the time.

There was an edgy moment after lunch. M had already left to go back to work. Then I heard him come back in and went to investigate. He was in the process of sneaking a chocolate bar out of the fridge, where he had secreted it. He said he had hoped I was upstairs and wouldn’t see it, ha ha. He offered me half and I refused. Yay me.

And, if you would care to glance at my little calendar on my side-bar, I have posted all 31 days of January! I did it. At least one month, how about that. I’m into the groove now, so I’m probably continue to blog regularly. Not every day, but often. Only when I actually have something to say, though, so I’m hoping the quality of my blog content will increase. This scraping of the bottom of the barrel hasn’t done anything for my ratings 😉

Written by Maggie

January 31, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So sorr to hear about the dog fight. I am petrified of big dogs when they fight as they can easily turn on you if you try and prevent it.

    I do feel sorry for the one that is going but she is a young dog and hopefully she will find another good family to go too.

    xxx

    Mom Archer

    February 1, 2008 at 11:29 am

  2. Oh, poor Sandy! I hope she recovers. When my old cat got beat up a few years ago, he moped for days. His feelings were hurt.

    Being obsessed with dogs, my heart goes out to Stix, too. I hope she finds a good home where her rambunctiousness isn’t destructive. Some dogs need to be the only dog. Sounds like the fight was about who’s the alpha dog… instinctively, they aren’t programmed to share, so a highly dominant dog who gets one bone thinks she deserves all the bones.

    Katie Alender

    February 1, 2008 at 7:13 pm

  3. It’s hard not to love a dog. Our two can be fairly naughty too … our fault.

    mdmhvonpa

    February 5, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  4. me checking in with you darling Maggs

    Wenchy

    February 6, 2008 at 2:04 pm


Leave a Reply

