Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

with 6 comments

Firstly, some of my readers may be delighted to know that Stixie seems to have gotten a new home. On a farm. And no, not the euphemistically used version of “farm” that has placated many a child about a departing pet. No, Stix is going to a genuine farm. I think that might just be the very best outcome possible. That dog needs very large open spaces to run around in and tire herself out.

So that’s the Stix chapter closed. I hope she’ll be happy.

As for myself, I’ve had quite the day. I had to go and have my driver’s licence renewed. The licence that I’ve barely used in the past five years? Yes, that one.

To the tune of R150. Still, it was worth paying. I have this fear that my licence will lapse and I’ll have to go for the test again. I don’t know why the thought rattles me so. I passed my driver’s first time. But that was then and this is now.

Anywaaay, I left the flat  at 5:30am with Michael. (Because that is the ridiculous hour the poor man leaves for work in the mornings). Then sat in the car for an hour and a half at his work, and then went to the licensing department where I was to renew the licence card. I drove myself!! And I must say, I am becoming much more relaxed behind the wheel. Some of my self-confidence is returning and I’m even tentatively starting to enjoy it, although I am still on my nerves a bit lest I miss the brakes or something silly like that (due to lack of sensation in my feet). I don’t think this is likely, anymore, although I worry about the speed of my reflexes in an emergency situation. Mind you, I guess that’s one of the hazards of driving, isn’t it. Luckily, because I’m half nervy behind the wheel, it does mean that I’m super-alert and aware of what the other cars are doing. I keep a ridiculously safe following distance and of course keep to the speed limit. While I was on the road this morning, on my way back, I came to a bit, just as the road is coming in to town, where the speed limit drops from 100kph to 60. I immediatley complied. Not so the car on my tail. The driver roared past me, on a solid white line and blind bend. Ar*ehole. It is people like that that make accidents.

Ever since my neuro appointment the beginning of the month, that showed that some sensation has returned to my left foot, I have been noticing that the sensation in general in both feet has improved. Nowhere near what it should be, but better.

In general, I am feeling so much better. I am so thrilled about it that I can’t convey it in mere words. This medicine is going to be so big, I just know it.

I have come so far in this journey already. I wish I could go back in time to the past version of myself, bedridden and hopeless, give myself a hug and whisper in my ear, “It’s gonna be all right.”

I had to wait for nearly two hours for my application for my new licence-card to be processed. Eye-test (which I passed), thumb prints etc. I met a really nice elderly gentleman while we waited, and him and I had a good chat. After that I had to stand in the queue again to pay, and here’s the thing – I could stand in the queue. I didn’t get tired at all. I fantasized about being able to do normal things like this, and now I can.

Back in the car for the trip home, which went marvelously too. The physical mechanics of driving a car are so much easier than they’ve been for me in a very long time.

I feel so productive now. I haven’t been looking forward to my licence expiring because in SA it usually means that you’ll have to spend a whole morning or afternoon (even both) standing in a queue to get it sorted out. So I don’t feel too badly about my 2 hours. And now I’m good to go till 2013. Yippee!

I am enjoying driving around again. It’s doing wonders for my self-confidence, just that little bit of independence. It’s also one of my NY resolutions that is going particularly well. I said that this was the year I wanted to start driving around again, and so far, so good. 

Written by Maggie

February 13, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is wonderful that you have done your license thingie. It is still lying ahead for both Dad and I and I think it has to be done before May.

    Glad you got that all behind you now

    xxxx

    Mom Archer

    February 13, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  2. Ok, I apologize for being lazy (I plead MS) but being new to your blog, may I ask when you were diagnosed? I have added you to my blog and need to catch up, but I am a new blogger, hate computers, and have become addicted to blogging, ergo I can never keep up w/all he blogs as I’d like to.
    I’m very interested in hearing about your trial experiences (and dogs, chocolate, et al), I was DX 1990.

    Diane J Standiford

    February 16, 2008 at 5:30 am

  3. Glad to hear you are doing so well. It has been inspirational to read about your progress over the past year. Maybe the chocolate is helping as well! =)

    Courtney

    February 16, 2008 at 6:25 pm

  4. Hi Maggie!
    So glad you are doing well and sensation is coming back to your feet! How cool is that??!

    Amazing how the little things in life thrill us now…like being able to stand in line for 2 hours. ugh. I’m thrilled that I can walk around the entire grocery store without ending up limping or just plain dragging myself behind the cart!

    Hey, come on over and join us at my new message board. A place were MSers can waste even more time online. 🙂 http://www.MeAndMyMS.org I’ve loved your comments on my blog and would like to spend more time sharing thoughts…especially on the trial.

    Good to see you doing so well!
    Peace ~ Jeri

    Jeri a.k.a. TickledPink

    February 17, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  5. Congratulations! And I’m happy to hear about the dog.

    Katie Alender

    February 18, 2008 at 5:04 am

  6. I always leave your blog with a feeling of wonder and amazement

    Wenchy

    February 19, 2008 at 11:15 am


Leave a Reply

