Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Some things about me…

with 3 comments

I love B&W photographs. It’s like magic; they can have more clarity than a full-colour, yet don’t reveal imperfections as readily. Brings the best to the front and disguises the not-so-good stuff.

I’m a big fan of sepia, as well. I find it very romantic. It can turn an ordinary photo into something really special.

To my surprise, my photo’s that I lovingly ‘doctored’ on Paint Shop Pro went largely unappreciated. The general consensus was, “We preferred them in colour.”

Well, sooo-reeee! lol. 

I like to think it makes me a bit of an artiste. Don’t artistes like stuff in B&W etc. Have a bit of culture, man.

On the issue of vintage cars, I do a smart about-turn. I do not like vintage cars. I’m a girl who appreciates my mod-cons when it comes to cars. When it comes to most stuff, actually. I hate old-fashioned furniture too. (And I mean this strictly as far as my own taste goes. It doesn’t bother me at all how other people furnish their homes. I’m really not being insincere if I compliment your rosewood cabinet that dates back to pre-Victorian times. But it’s not for me).

But back to the cars, old cars really don’t do it for me. Not as a pricey collector’s item, anyway. I don’t get rich people that spend millions acquiring and maintaining a bunch of cars from the 1950’s. Even if it does make them feel sentimental about their youth.

Give me my ABS, ESP, power-steering, air-bags and most important of all…my AIRCON. I want to feel safe and cool, and I ain’t gonna get that from vintage.

I don’t know why, but I used to have a thing for the Alpha-Romeo Spider (1967). I must have seen a picture of it somewhere, and I’ve always said that if I had to choose a vintage car, that would be it. I carried this romantic little idea of it around in my head – one and only concession to anything vintage. Well, no longer. I just did a search on it, and man! It’s butt-ugly. What was I thinking? Even being 18 at the time is no excuse. There must have been a boy involved, i.e. he was a Spider freak, and I lied and said I liked it too and then somehow forgot that I’d been pretending.

Moving on.

Wine. I have absolutely no culture whatsoever when it comes to wine. I don’t drink the stuff. Not, surprisingly, because of any kind of health reason, but simply because I really don’t like it. And that goes for any type of alcohol. I can barely stomach the stuff. I have to gag it down, and why would a person have something that you find that unpalatable?

But when the wine-talk starts, I better shut up because I’m sadly lacking on any sort of etiquette (red meat, red wine, is it?) or knowledge on the subject. I just about know how to pronounce sauvignon blanc. That’s it.

So I’m a little bit of a conundrum. I like classical music and literature, but hate poetry and wine. Is that a bit weird?

Written by Maggie

February 27, 2008 at 3:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting post … yes, I do think some of it is a bit weird! But then again we are all unique little human beings!!!

    Addie

    February 27, 2008 at 8:16 pm

  2. I love love love B&W as well 🙂

    supermom

    February 29, 2008 at 11:18 am

  3. Wine is just one of those things where you have to soak yourself in it to appreciate it (like coffee)… It took me eons to become a real fan. And I still go through really long periods where it isn’t all that appetizing.

    The most current trend in wines, that I know of, is that all of the rules about reds/whites with meat/fish, etc., are being broken. (At least in my house, they are!)

    Katie Alender

    March 2, 2008 at 4:31 am


Leave a Reply

