Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Impeccable timing, as always.

with 7 comments

I can’t believe my luck, although I guess I should have expected it.

Some background info:

I am going to the Cape with Michael for the Argus Cycling Race, which he is to participate in. He goes every year, but the last time I was able to go with was in 2001. So I’ve really been looking forward to it – I love the Cape. And I’ve been feeling so good lately that I thought it would really be a blast. We are set to leave early Thursday morning.

This just in: Relapse Alert!

Yip, it’s official. I am having a relapse. Today being Monday, I have three days to do something about it. Something that will involve a trip to Jo’burg to see the trials neuro and a two day stay in hospital.

Last night, I made the decision to cope with it on my return, next Tuesday. Now I’m not so sure, as it seems to be revving up.

It is non-negotiable to cancel the trip. I have really been looking forward to it, and I’ve cancelled so many trips due to my health that it’s starting to look suspect. Even though it isn’t. So I am going, even if it’s with a cortisone hangover. (Heaven help my fellow passengers, lol) 

There is still the option of waiting till I come back. I am trying to gauge the rate of progress here. It’s quite slow, as always, and a week shouldn’t make too much of a difference. But on the other hand, it’s just going to be an extra week’s worth of remyelination that I’m going to have to work on. I’m leery of that by now.

And if I don’t treat before I go will I really enjoy my holiday that much, with the worry at the back of my mind the whole time, and the constant monitering of symptoms. Probably not.

The relapse is fairly mild, and not noticable at all from the outside. It’s basically just a creeping numbness on the left side of my body, especially my foot (that only recently regained a degree of feeling), my leg and my hand. What is spurring me into action is that it affecting the motor control I have in my hand. There was already a degree of damage in my hand prior to the relapse. If I use it too much then it starts acting up in a big way. So I’m really not prepared to sacrifice any more. This rehabilition process is too hard.

I’m thinking I should book in tonight and get my gram of solu-medrol. Then I’ll have till Thursday morning to recover somewhat. 

Written by Maggie

March 3, 2008 at 5:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yikes! Sorry to hear this, Maggs. I hope you work it out, and have a great time in the Cape regardless!! xoxo

    Donna

    March 4, 2008 at 8:11 am

  2. Ag no man. Flip. That’s not fair. URGH..makes ME want to scream for your sake

    supermom

    March 4, 2008 at 1:51 pm

  3. Maggs, don’t stress too much, it would probably just make matters worse. Let’s all hope and PRAY for the best and come back here on Tuesday, reading all about your lovely weekend in the fairest Cape. I really hope you can go!!!!

    Addie

    March 4, 2008 at 9:52 pm

  4. Shitty shit, poor Vaallie-ka-paalie. Hope all goes well and you get to come down. Such a gorg day in CT toady!!!

    Mel

    March 5, 2008 at 10:19 am

  5. Darn Magdaleen, such bad timing on the part of MS. Deserves a talking to:) I know we will all have a great time though.

    Meldad

    March 6, 2008 at 4:23 am

  6. Hi,

    I have an MS Blogger Project underway over at my place. Please visit MS Awareness, Blogging Friends, and a little Link Love to join in.

    Thanks,
    Lisa

    Lisa Emrich

    March 7, 2008 at 6:00 am

  7. Nonononono!!! NO relapsing! It’s not permitted!! ((hugs)) to you! I’m sorry your not feeling well!

    I have something to cheer you up if you go visit my blog. 😀

    Take care and I hope you get (got, if it’s already come and gone) to have a wonderful time and the MS beast doesn’t stomp all over your plans.

    Jeri a.k.a. TickledPink

    March 10, 2008 at 5:07 am


Leave a Reply

