Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Bare-faced chic

with one comment

There are no ugly women, only lazy ones – Helena Rubinstein.

It was to that end that I spent some time yesterday morning tinting my lashes and eyebrows. I belong firmly to the less is more school of beauty. Or rather, that’s what I tell myself, because I am too lazy to shave my legs every day (or even every other week, if we’re being scrupulously honest here).

I usually do the bare-faced chic look, which is but a fancy term for ‘can’t be bothered to put make-up on’.

But every now and then, I pull myself up by the socks and ‘make an effort’.

So yesterday morning, having the time afforded me by being a so-called ‘golf-widow’, I spent tinting, shaving, plucking, primping, trimming (fringe and toenails), buffing,loofah-ing – you name it, I did it. A veritable before- and after-pic, I tell you.

It struck me, not for the first time, the very unnatural things we women have to do to look ‘natural’ and feminine. Vanity is an awful thing. So is social acceptance. I wonder which is more powerful.

The golfer (aka, my darling husband) had a really good round yesterday. His golf is coming together very nicely indeed, which makes for an extremely happy household. If Papa bear is happy, then everybear is happy 😉 Seriously though, he played a round of 86 strokes on his home course, which even I know by now is a pretty good round. Last month, he actually played a round where the first nine holes were level to par. That is pro territory! Unfortunately the second nine wasn’t quite so good, but if he could do it once… Mmmm, lemme just start picking out a fancy golf-estate for us to retire on, shall I?

Mini-relapse update: Only bother at this stage (i.e. today) is the numb legs. Should I really go to the trouble of going through an IV steroid course for that? It’s quite a big deal. Either that or I’m just a big sissy. Still, who wants a totalled pancreas?

 

 

Written by Maggie

April 6, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow … I love being a man!

    mdmhvonpa

    April 7, 2008 at 5:34 pm


Leave a Reply

