Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Eventful day

with 3 comments

On Wednesday morning, I decided enough is enough and went into hospital for my cortisone fix. I was going to take 2grams over two days, but then came some exciting news! My baby sister Annie, was scheduled to have her c-section on Thursday morning. My parents were going through to Joburg to see her and the baby, and there was no way that I was going to miss that trip.

So I booked in for a single gram dose. Same old, same old. Got buggered around by the doctor/ hospital about being discharged and ended up waiting there till seven o’ clock that night.

Didn’t sleep at all on Wednesday night, of course, being so revved up on the cortisone. Out of bed at 5am on Thursday morning, went to work with Michael and then met up with my parents. Then it was off to Joburg to meet Sarah-Kate.

She was born at 8:36am, weighing in at 3.7kg’s and 52cm long. (A nice big baby girl). She has dark curly hair, quite a lot of it. Chubby cheeks and a round face. Too precious for words. And a real cupid’s bow of a mouth. We’re all in love, especially the proud mama. She is completely besotted.

The birth itself went very well. Annie ended up having a spinal epidural or whatever they’re called and she said it was a good experience. They battled a little to get the baby out and had to use forceps though. Shame, the marks were still on her little head when we saw her.

We visited for an hour (they are strict with visiting hours there!) and then left for home again, satisfied that mother and baby were doing well.

I slept really well last night. Today I feel decidedly fragile. My back is sore and I feel weak. And I managed to pull a muscle in my shoulder blade while I was sleeping, so I’m not doing that perky. In a way though, I’m glad. Last month when I had cortisone, I had very little in the way of negative side-effects, but the flip-side of that coin was that it didn’t really seem to work much either. At least if I’m experiencing side-effects then I know it is doing its job.

Right now, I’m going to go and do some serious vegging out!

 

Written by Maggie

April 11, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah … those steroid infusions are crappy unless you can get a home-nurse to administer them.

    mdmhvonpa

    April 11, 2008 at 7:06 pm

  2. Yes, Pa, that’s how I always had them. CONGRAtULATIONS AUNTIE!!

    Diane J Standiford

    April 12, 2008 at 8:40 am

  3. I still wanted to thank you for the photos of little Sarah-Kate. She is so pretty. I’m glad the birth went so well.
    I hope you feel better. And that the negative side-effects does mean you will be feeling the upside of the cortisone soon

    supermom

    April 12, 2008 at 12:14 pm


Leave a Reply

