Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Retract, retract!

with 5 comments

I’m a bit of a nut. I can write the biggest load of crap at night if I feel like it. And last night was no exception.

I’ve had it with that little bastard, Crickey!

After my vomit-inducing  heart-warming post of last night, Crickey relocated to our downstairs toilet. Only problem with that, is that with the acoustics of the toilet, which is situated at the bottom of the stairwell, those little chirps were amplified and arrived at an alarming decibel-level in our bedroom.

And as it was so cold last night, I was battling to go to sleep anyway, without needing the booming orchestrations of Crickey on top of it. Michael was restless, too and is feeling flu-ey. If it wasn’t so freezing cold, I would have gone on the warpath and hunted that no-good Crickey down. And I would have squashed him. (Even though I do think it’s unlucky to squash crickets 😉

Ordinarily, I’d ‘release him back into the wild’ with or without a tracking device, but not last night.

But today, he has to go. I know a nice farm where he’ll be happy… *evil laugh*

Only kidding. I’ll put him out back with his mate, promise. But he’s no longer welcome in this humble abode.

 

On a more sombre note, I received the most horrifying email yesterday. It is a petition that my Mom-in-law sent me to sign, regarding the so-called ‘artist’, Guillermo Vargas Habacuc. I’ve heard vague accounts of ‘starving dogs for art, but this is the first time I’ve read the full account, which follows.

In 2007, the ‘artist’ Guillermo Vargas Habacuc, took a dog from the street, he tied him to a rope in an art gallery, starving him to death.For several days, the ‘artist’ and the visitors of the exhibition have watched emotionless the shameful ‘masterpiece’ based on the dog’s agony, until eventually he died. 

Then followed the most heart-rendingly grotesque photos of the poor dog. I feel sick to my stomach, and those images will stay with me for a long time.

Worst of all … the prestigious Visual Arts Biennial of the Central American  decided that the ‘installation’ was actually art, so that Guillermo Vargas Habacuc has been invited to repeat his cruel action for the biennial of 2008. 
 
If you wish to sign the petition to stop this inhuman cruelty, here is the link:

 http://www.petitiononline.com/ea6gk/petition-sign.html

Just as my faith in human nature was taking a turn for the better, I had to read something like this, that has sickened me to my core. I cannot believe that it was allowed to take place in this day and age.

Written by Maggie

April 24, 2008 at 9:53 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wonder if we can tie Crickey up and watch him suffer… all for art? 🙂

    Michael

    April 24, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  2. Magdaleen I LOVED your Jininy Cricket post. Hope he inspires your blog for a long time to come….

    Meldad

    April 24, 2008 at 5:11 pm

  3. Noisome insects in the night … begone!

    mdmhvonpa

    April 24, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  4. They’re just looking for mates…..but you knew I’d say that.

    S.

    Shauna MacKinnon

    April 24, 2008 at 8:48 pm

  5. I love your little crickey thingie too. Keep it up hope it becomes a book !! yes I am also so shocked about that “art” form it surely can’t be happening in today’s day and age 😦

    Mom Archer

    April 25, 2008 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

