Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Crickets and load-shedding

with 4 comments

Update on Crickey:

Can that cricket just get laid already?! Oh wait, he did nearly get it right, but was thwarted by… me! (What have I done? He chirps non-stop for three weeks, and then when he finally gets lucky – I chuck his mate out the window!)

That was so blonde of me. Even worse than when I tried to light a match from the wrong end (repeatedly) last night during load-shedding. (In my defense, it was dark and I couldn’t see what I was doing).

Crickey has now relocated to behind the fridge. Thank goodness. From our bedroom, it just sounds like vague (and not altogether unpleasant) background  noise. It sort of lulls a person to sleep. No problem. He’s back to being a pet.

Michael and I quite like load-shedding. Quality time, people, quality time. And now, quality time just got better. My dear parents-in-law gave us the most wonderful prezzie yesterday. It’s a fluorescent light that recharges when there is electricity, and automatically switches on when the load-shedding hits. It is so bright that on its lowest setting, it lights up the room like Christmas, never mind daylight! Huge improvement.

We bought a fitting for our gas-ring yesterday so that we can boil a kettle on it. We also bought an aluminium kettle for this purpose. Of course, I balked at the aluminium part. Every bunny-hugger knows that aluminium is strongly linked to the development of Alzheimers. Unfortunately, that was all that was available. And it’s not like we will be using it everyday. Twice a week, max.

So now we’re organised. Bring it on.

The cherry on the top, is that the dude in flat No.1 (us being flat No.7) has stopped using his (noisy, stinky) generator, which was the only fly in my load-shedding ointment. There must have been complaints. (Not from me!). Like Michael said though, if it was bugging us in No.7, it must have been driving the folks at No.2 through 6 absolutely nuts.

What’s worse than sitting without power? – Sitting without power while the guy next door to you is lazing in his (fully-lit) living room watching tv while you inhale his generator’s fumes.

Now, silence reigns golden once more. The sky is heavy-laden with the most magnificent stars, courtesy of the darkness afforded by no street lamps. Last night, I could even make out some of the constellations. Of course, I had no idea what they were, but I could make them out.

Makes me think of Ben E. King, and his song Stand By Me:

When the night has come
And the land is dark
And the moon is the only light we’ll see
No I won’t be afraid, no I won’t be afraid
Just as long as you stand, stand by me

Written by Maggie

April 25, 2008 at 9:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you two can now make tea !! or in Mike’s case Coffee 🙂 We are also guilty of being noise poluters where it comes to generators. I swear I feel sorry for our neighbours I do 😉

    Mom Archer

    April 25, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  2. Sooo …. any solar panels in your future?

    mdmhvonpa

    April 26, 2008 at 4:39 am

  3. (wordpress just ate my comment), anyways, we are not affected by loadshedding – it happens all around us but not in our block – strange but I am not complaining!!! I have started a new blog, so please pop around anytime http://www.usgoingdownunder.wordpress.com – send my love to M!

    Gen

    May 3, 2008 at 9:06 pm

  4. I so loved this blog entry Maggie. 🙂 Made me smile.

    Wenchy

    May 8, 2008 at 8:34 am


Leave a Reply

