Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Global musings…

with one comment

I was born under a stay-at-home star. I don’t have so much of the wanderlust in me.

Good thing, too, because boy, have I been staying at home a lot for the past couple of years.

Don’t get me wrong. I’d like to travel the world sometime. There are some things that I really hope to see before I die, like the Northern Lights, Stonehenge, the Blue Danube…

I kind of always thought that I would travel in my 30’s. My 20’s were supposed to be for accumulating the necessary funds for said travelling. That didn’t go quite according to plan. How was I to forsee the major setback in my health in my early twenties, shooting my fledging grip on the corporate ladder in its foot? (I was rudely healthy up until the age of 21, so it came as somewhat of a surprise).

So new plan, I guess. Money making in my 30’s and my 40’s will just have to be soon enough for the travel bug to bite. Unless I win the lotto on Saturday night. Of course, it would help if I bought a ticket, which I never, ever do. I don’t really believe in the lotto.

I’m fortunate in that I have been able to travel this  beautiful country that I live in extensively. My parents always took us on great holidays and then there were school-trips I went on and trips that Michael and I have taken together – so it’s all good. South Africa is pretty much a premier tourist destination as far as scenery and diversity go. Aren’t I lucky?

And to round off this entry, here is something that made me laugh a lot today, because I think we’ve all known a guy like this…

A grumpy, overbearing office manager once had to spend a couple
of days in the hospital. He was a royal pain to the nurses,
bossing them around just like he did his employees. None of the
hospital staff wanted to have anything to do with him. The head
nurse was the only one who would stand up to him.

She walked into his room and announced, “I have to take your
temperature.”

After complaining for a few minutes he finally settled down,
crossed his arms and opened his mouth.

“No, I’m sorry,” the nurse said, “For this reading, I can’t use
an oral thermometer.”

This started another round of complaining, but eventually he
rolled over and bared his behind. After inserting the
thermometer, she said, “Now, I have to go get something. You stay
just like that until I get back!”

She left the door to his room open on her way out, and the man
cursed under his breath as he heard people walking past his door
snickering. After quite some time had passed, a doctor walked
into the room.

“What’s going on here?” asked the doctor.

Angrily, the man answered, “What’s the matter, Doc? haven’t you
ever seen someone having their temperature taken before?”

After a pause, the doctor replied, “Yes… but never with a
DAFFODIL!”

Written by Maggie

June 5, 2008 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes I’ve noticed doctors are more conservative and less outgoing than they used to be…Thanks for the joke Maggsbunny!

    sarsen56

    June 8, 2008 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

