Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Wish that happiness could be bottled…

with 2 comments

…and saved for a rainy day.

I am having a great day. Great in general, and certainly  not hurt by the fact that I am reading the brand new novel from one of my ALL TIME favourite writers, Marian Keyes. That woman sure knows how to spin a yarn. Her new book is entitled This Charming Man. It’s a little different to her previous novels and took me a while to get into it. It deals with the sombre topic of domestic violence, which is mentally jarring, let’s face it. But as always, she writes with such wit and warmth that I find myself laughing uncontrollably at certain scenes. (She does not make fun of domestic violence, don’t get me wrong, but  she has some great comic relief in the book). I have just finished a scene that left me weak from laughing. I don’t laugh out loud for books much, but I was guffawing away so much that I was battling to keep a grip on the book. The sound of my own laughter in the empty flat made me laugh even more; it was a total moment.

I’d describe the scene, but I couldn’t possibly do it justice, but if you’re into chick-lit with brains, get the book and leave me a comment after you’ve read the ‘trannie’ scene. I’m still wiping tears of laughter out of my eyes!

I phoned my sister and told her how I’m laughing my ass off at the book (she was the one that bought it). I said I don’t know what the neighbours must be thinking about me. She replied that they probably think that I’ve taken a lover.

Now that made me laugh even harder – the very idea!

My sister is very sweet to me. She knows I have a thing for Marian Keyes. So when she was at CNA earlier in the week, and saw that her new book was out, she bought it and gave it to me to read first. I remember when I was little, she bought me a My Little Pony out of her very first pay-check. And she’s still at it. I’m so lucky to be blessed with not one, not two, but three awesome sisters. My cup runneth over.

Written by Maggie

June 25, 2008 at 5:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nope … no books for me. Sci-Fi is my preference, but I have not had the time to indulge of late.

    mdmhvonpa

    June 25, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  2. That’s SO sweet. 🙂 You do have awesome sisters

    supermom

    June 28, 2008 at 11:48 am


Leave a Reply

