Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Busy day.

with one comment

I had a pleasantly busy day today. Gym this morning, and then I drove to my parents’ house after dropping M off at work at 14h00. I spent the afternoon sorting out my old closet in what used to be my bedroom. Long overdue. I felt guilty about it, because my mom has asked me to clean it out and to take what I want a couple of times. Truthfully, I haven’t felt up to it till now.

I had a lot of fun sorting out all my old stuff, paging through school year books, etc. Quite the trip down memory lane, I tell you.

Now all that old crap is in our flat and I have to tidy it up tomorrow and decide what I will keep and what I’ll throw/ give away. It feels strangely liberating to get rid of the stuff that I know I’ll never use again, even though each item that goes is a slight wrench for my hoarding nature. But hoarding is just another bad habit, and one that I am determined to overcome.

On a slightly different topic, today while I was in the swimming pool, my mind was wandering and I started thinking about Marian Keyes’ book that I read recently, ‘This Charming Man’. I don’t know if I raved enough about it, because it really was very good. The Irish politics didn’t interest me terribly, though it was a good story-line. The women-beating by the slimy title character was quite disturbing, as well as the delving into the life of an alcoholic. But what really made the book for me was the charmingly off-beat and utterly hilarious romance between Lola Daly and Rossa Considine, told in the form of Lola’s diary entries. I think it is one of the best love stories I have read in my entire life. (By the way, my ‘entire life’ is becoming quite considerable – I will be 29 years old in January. The first flush of youth is definitely rounding the bend, folks, lol.) So ladies, please – if sharp chick-lit is your thing, be sure to read This Charming Man. And I dare you not to shed a little tear at the end, out of sheer, toe-curling enjoyment.

Tune in tomorrow for my write up on the Fingolimod check-up…

Written by Maggie

July 30, 2008 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just finished the book and it’s amazing. Loved Lola and Rossa Considine as well.

    Sev

    June 1, 2016 at 10:21 am


Leave a Reply

