Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

It never rains…

with one comment

…but it freakin’ well pours!

There has been precious little to watch on TV lately. 7de Laan is grating on my nerves so much that I have decided to stop watching. That leaves HOUSE on a Monday night, SCRUBS and SURVIVOR on Tuesday, nothing on Wednesday, nothing on Thursday and now that the FRIENDS reruns are finished (huge bawling-inducing finale there, seeing M & I sobbing pleasantly as the crew left the apartment for the last time) nothing on a Friday either.

Tonight I had ear-marked for a movie, though. Man in the Moon, starring a very young Reese Witherspoon. I watched that movie in my teens and thoroughly enjoyed it, but due to an electrical storm at the time affecting the broadcast, missed the ending. I’ve been looking for that movie for years, and saw by chance yesterday that it is showing tonight on M-Net Stars. I was feeling awfully excited about that. As luck would have it, it is showing straight after SCRUBS. I even got Michael to agree to watch it with me. Kinda like a date-night.

So I checked now just to make sure that it isn’t coinciding with anything else. Well, of course it is.

I forgot about SURVIVOR (I don’t watch it myself but M never misses an episode). Not only that, but the season premiere of THE OFFICE is showing in exactly the same time slot. What are the odds?

Luckily my movie is repeating on Thursday because I have a feeling that it’s going to draw the short straw 😉

I had an awful night last night. My feet and legs were feeling so horribly numb that it was almost painful, it was so disturbing. I hate that feeling. Hate it.

I know I have a strong propensity for whinging on this blog, but I swear, sometimes I feel like it’s the only way I can cope. I’m part of the MS community in bloggy world. There are a lot of us, and it just helps to know that there are others that understand what I’m going through. Good times and bad. They know what it’s like to lie awake in terror with the threat of permanently losing a faculty hanging over your head. But they also know the joy of recovering from the threat. No mere words can describe it. It lies unwritten, between the lines.

Writing about it keeps me from going batty. Every now and then, I glance over my shoulder and see an abyss of depression, winking seductively. Throw yourself in me, it beckons. But I look away, and sometimes writing a good whiny blog post helps me to show it the proverbial finger.

I decided that MS will no longer keep me from making life plans. It may foil them, I guess I can’t control that, but it won’t stop me from making them in the first place. I am going to take the first of what I hope will be a series of practical piano exams next year. This is risky, let’s not beat around the bush, because it relies heavily on nimbleness and sensitivity in fingers. Something that no MS person in their right mind can bank on.

But I don’t care. I’m going to do it anyway. I read online yesterday (don’t know if it’s fact but it sounds about right) that a grade 5 qualifies one to give casual lessons. Not at a school or to official exam taking pupils, but definitely to beginners. I would love to do that. Anyway, I’m going to shoot for my grade 7, which was the level I was at when I left school.

It was so lovely outside that I decided to have a little photoshoot. Here is my pride and joy, aka the one plant under my care that I didn’t manage to kill, my French Lavender bush.

And a close-up of the blossoms:

And here is my cheeky next door neighbour, Gismo, whom I have written about before. I peeped the camera over the wall to take the photo and he barked at me when the flash went off and buggered off back indoors. lol. Isn’t he a fine specimen though?

Lastly, I just have to mention the fantastic Red Cappuccino I had this morning. I had honestly never heard of it before, but it’s a cappuccino made with espresso rooibos tea and drizzled with honey on the top. The sophistication nearly undid me, I tell you 🙂

I actually had a very enjoyable morning. My auntie and cousin came to pick me up to breakfast with them at a really nice place I haven’t been to before: The Lounge. Where I had the  best omelet I have ever  had! Not joking here. And the Red Cappuccino, which was an event on its own. The setting was so elegant. Groovy, like the coffee house in FRIENDS, just smarter. And the company was great. My aunt and cousin are among my favourite people in the world 😉

There are those who would say that I am living the life. I am mildly defensive about not working, but really, I’d prefer to be grafting my fingers to the bone rather than have a relapse every three months. (If I’m lucky).

That said, I do enjoy my life a lot.

When I’m not whinging about my poor numb digits, that is.

Eish, I guess there is no such thing as a perfect life.

Written by Maggie

August 26, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AAaa just look at your neighbour 🙂
    Complain all you want. It’s your blog. And you cope darn well with the hand life has dealt you.

    supermom

    August 26, 2008 at 8:47 pm


Leave a Reply

