Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

7 years

with 7 comments

Yesterday was my seven year anniversary since being diagnosed with MS.

What a rollercoaster ride it has been, and how much better I feel about it than I have over the past couple of years when this date has rolled by. Fingolimod has had a huge amount to do with it. Thank Heavens for medical research and breakthroughs.

To say that MS has changed the course of my life would be a huge understatement, Or would it? Would my life really have been so very different? Difficult to say, really, because at the end of the day, I’m still me.

I am very excited at the prospect of going on the extention phase of the trials. The neuro seems confident that I will be invited. If my theory is correct, and I am on the 0.5mg dosage, then it would make logical sense for my neurologist to put me on the 1.25mg dosage. On extention phase, he decides which dosage to put his various patients on. I have a feeling that I will then finally be able to kiss my relapses goodbye.

My relapses have been tamed considerably, but I still get them on average every 3 months. I can hardly contemplate a life without relapses, except to know that it will be surreally wonderful 🙂

So yes, I am looking forward to early next year when extention phase will commence for me.

 

In other news, Michael and I are having a wonderful time with our little Bluebeary.

I always had a bit of a secret disdain for people that treated their dogs like children. I am now not dangerously close to that line, but well beyond it, lol. I am so attached to that little doggie already. We worry terribly about her if we go anywhere without her. We are a family of three now 😉 I suppose a lot can be said about the psychology of this. Surrogate child and all that, but the truth is that she has slotted neatly into a little gap that was in our home and we love her madly already. Our first ‘dependent’ since we got married.

Could I look any more like a teddy-bear?

Sitting on Michael chest and staring into his eyes.

Sitting on my lap and nibbling my finger, so softly.

A tiny little bear paw.

Yes, I am now a fully fledged doggie-blogger 😉

Written by Maggie

October 19, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stop it! I can’t take the cuteness! Wookie says it’s a little cotton ball with legs.

    S.

    Shauna MacKinnon

    October 19, 2008 at 11:51 pm

  2. Awwww!! How sweet!!

    Congratulations (or condolences??) on the 7 year anniversary. I know what you mean about wondering if life would have been different. I’m coming up on 10 years next March. What a long, strange trip it’s been.

    MS sucks, but until they find a cure I guess we have to find a way to deal with it. Sorry you are still having relapses — KNOCK ON WOOD, I’ve not had one since April 07.

    I just started the extension phase of the Fingolimod trial last month and so far so good.

    From what I’ve read, there are tons of new drugs in trials, so if this one ends up not doing the trick for you, odds are something will.

    I wish I could cuddle that puppy…that’s all the meds I’d need. 🙂

    Jeri

    TickledPink

    October 20, 2008 at 3:22 am

  3. Well, congrats to being a survivor (trying to put a positive spin on things), and that for 7 years already. Many of my friends aren’t any more, and things like breast cancer (Age 33), stroke (age29) cut their lives short. In some respect I am a survivor, too. 7 1/2 years ago I had an 8 hour surgery on my throat to remove a tumour. It left some nerves severed, and I had to relearn to swallow and got another surgery to be able to speak again. Thankfully there was no recurrence of tumour.

    I remeber when you posted that you get really glad and grateful when you see someone who is worse off that you. It hit a chord in me. Same here. It shows one that there is still so much to be grateful for. It makes you glad that you are not stuck in their shoes,and you still have the lucky end of the stick.

    Isis

    October 20, 2008 at 4:22 pm

  4. oh dear, posted comment on wrong post. o.0

    Isis

    October 20, 2008 at 4:23 pm

  5. scratch that, just noticed you combined the super cute pics with the anniversary.
    your puppy is THE C U T E S T

    Isis

    October 20, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  6. Love the photo’s Maggie keep them coming.. and congrats girl on the 7 years.. We know it wasn’t all a bed of roses. xxx

    You are doing so well.

    Love

    Mom

    Marié Archer

    October 20, 2008 at 6:22 pm

  7. I love little doggie paws…LOVE it 🙂

    supermom

    October 21, 2008 at 9:41 am


Leave a Reply

