Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Lonely weekend

with one comment

The reason I didn’t go with to the funeral, as you may have guessed, is a certain Bluebeary doggie.

The city where the funeral took place is a six hour drive from us, so necessitates sleeping over at least one night. We didn’t know what to do with Bluebeary, who has been the light of our lives in the month and a half that we have had her. We couldn’t leave her at friends/ family because they all have big dogs. With the exception of Michael’s parents, who left their own dogs in the care of their maid. But I’m scared Bluebeary would play too rough with the Pekingese doggies with their bulging eyes. The one puppy, who is a month older than Blue, is very aggressive towards her and though she is submissive towards him, I can totally see her snapping those sharp, sharp teeth of hers in his face and gaffing one of his eyes. I don’t want that on my conscience.

The other thing is just plain bad timing. We could have left her in our home alone. Our neighbour would have checked in on her once or twice a day. Unfortunately, the security gate that Bluebeary regards as her own personal doggie-door is fast becoming too small for her to squeeze through. She only just makes it through, with huge effort. Any day now, she is going to get stuck going through and it could just as easily have been this weekend. We didn’t want to take that chance, and Michael asked me if I would please stay home with her over the weekend.

I reckoned it was bad enough that Michael had to bury his granddad this weekend, without still having to stress about what was happening to his beloved dog. So I agreed.

My heart is sore that I couldn’t be there, though.

The dog is missing Michael terribly. She is going ’round the house, peeping into every room in case he might be there. When it is time for him to come home from work, she sits at the front door, waiting. And of course the feeling is mutual, so I sent him a photo of her today. I call it Beary the Sphinx:

dsc00029

I got it back like this: (It had undergone a wee bit of editing on Michael’s Nokia N95).

dsc00029_001

Now that’s creative, lol.

Later, I got this one…

dsc00027_003

Michael has quite obviously missed his calling in life. He needs to be one of those people that make cute animal posters that people hang on their walls, lol.

I am missing him, but I have to admit that there is a part of me that is enjoying my girly weekend. Just me and Beary. (By the way, she is such a great little companion.) (And takes her job of protecting me very seriously. Even against a gurgling bath plug hole, which she gave a good barking to).

I have no-one’s schedule to adhere to bar my own, and it is quite nice. But only for a weekend. I like being married. Correction: I like being married to Michael. My life would be very boring without him 😉 Although, he is going to get his butt whipped at table-tennis when he gets back!

This morning I went gymming, which was very nice. I met up with my dad at the pool. Not that I can keep up with him. He is as fit as a fiddle and is hard at work training for next year’s Midmar Mile.

I have been loafing off gym for too long, what with going to hospital etc. I wasn’t that inclined to go back, either. But then earlier in the week, my back started getting really sore again. Definitely the same sacro-illiac trouble as before as my hips were hurting like hell and pain was being referred in every direction, even to my foot. So starting on Wednesday, I have been to the gym on three consecutive days and it is amazing how my back has recovered. Also amazing how fast swimming becomes addictive again.

Afterwards, I went to Musiq Land and bought the UNISA Grade 7 music examination album. I want to play the April session in 2009 so will have to start working at it. I am very excited about doing this and seeing how far I can take it.

When I was messing around with the cellphone photo’s that I posted here, I came across some that we took two weeks ago. Turns out that Face Warp works on dogs, too. Logically, as they also have a face. Check these for a laugh…

warp4

Beary the Gobbler 😉

warp9

Smiling fool

warp12

Shi Tzu?

 

Does it show that I’m alone at home? lol

Written by Maggie

November 28, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ag shame. She’s so cute. Michael walks around showing her off to all that is willing to look 🙂

    supermom

    November 29, 2008 at 9:42 am


Leave a Reply

