Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

10:47

with one comment

That is what time it is 😉 Why do I always leave blogging for so late?

It is too hot to go to sleep. Absolutely sweltering. Must be the hottest day of the year as well as the longest today! (Here in the southern hemisphere, we have our Summer equinox on 22 December, so from tomorrow the days will start getting shorter and, hopefully, cooler).

Of course, it’s all relative. My friend from Mozambique is visiting her parents nearby to where I live, and she is having a lovely, cool holiday. Back in Mo, temperatures are upwards of 40 degrees celcius. Yikes!

This same friend is due to give birth to her baby daughter any moment now. So exciting!

I want to go and have my hair cut tomorrow. The only question is how short…

I went outside this evening to check if there were any cockchafer beetles eating my roses’ leaves. I am on the warpath with them, stupid buggers. They eat the leaves of the roses until they look like old lace. Eventually, the rose bush will die from this as it can’t breathe properly any more.

I am learning about roses. And how to distinguish between the good guys and the baddies. Butterflies, ladybirds, praying mantis, bees = good guys. Cockchafer beetles, cutworm, aphids = bad guys.

Of course, I resolutely refuse to spray poisonous pesticides on the roses. Matter of principle + concern that Beary may eat some leaves with toxic residue on them. So I’m researching organic methods. The yuckiest one of these is to take a carcass of whatever it is you want to repel (in this case, the cockchafer beetle) infuse it in some water for a couple of days, put in a spray bottle and spritz the roses with it. I’ll try that as a last resort. It sounds a bit macabre to me.

Anyway, so I went out and checked the bushes for beetles, as they come out at night to feed on the roses. I couldn’t see any, but I did see one of the good guys…

roses-0371

Isn’t he sweet?

Then I went on to the second bush. Still didn’t see any beetles, but the rose was so pretty I had to photograph it. Imagine  my disgust when I saw this…

roses-040

A nasty cockchafer beetle actually eating one of the roses. No man! So I ‘disposed’ of it. If it’s not careful, it’ll end up in some Dead Bug Spray.

After sorting out the beetle, I moved on to the other roses. No more beetles in sight. I was momentarily transfixed by the sight of the Blue Moon rose peeking out of its bud…

roses-045

The colour of this rose, according to this website is supposed to be a clear, silver-lilac colour. Sounds good. Can’t wait.

This is turning out to be a good hobby that has exploded out of nowhere, ha ha.

While all of this was going on, Beary was sitting in her bush, watching me bemusedly…

roses-043

This is the only part of the flower bed that she’s allowed in. She’s pretty good about not going near my roses, so she can do what she wants with this bush. I just hope it survives her attentions 😉 It is a shadow of its former self.

Now I’ve got to have a cold shower (only thing that cools a person down in this heat) and try and get some sleep.

Written by Maggie

December 22, 2008 at 11:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ok – so from now on we will call you the bug lady – lol

    The colour of the Blue Moon rose sounds interesting – never seen a lilac rose before…… 🙂

    Beary has that look on her face that sais she about ready to get up to mischef or is thinking about it at least……. – hehehehe

    Hope you managed to cool down……………!

    Gen

    December 22, 2008 at 11:58 pm


Leave a Reply

