Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Chewlius Caesar

with 5 comments

Apologies first – I’m a baaad blogger. To disappear over the festive season with nary a trace – bad style. And with no Christmas wishes for anyone and no thanks for the lovely comments left on my last post.

Sorry. And thank you 😉

Hope y’all had a lovely Christmas, and Happy New Year to anyone who sidles over to my humble blog-abode this week :-p

Not actually an excuse for bad blog behaviour (I haven’t replied to any of the lovely comments, which I did love reading, especially on the day that I somewhat regretted cutting my hair, lol), but I haven’t exactly been feeling on top of things.

It is so hot, for starters.

And I’m so having a relapse.

The pickle about this is that I go for my last visit for the trials on 3rd February, before commencing the open label, extention phase of the trials.

So on the 3rd of Feb, I have to have an MRI done. And the rules are that I may not use cortico-steroids for at least 30 days before having the scan done, otherwise the results are skewed because my immune system is being suppressed.

So basically that means that I either use cortisone now, before the 3rd of Jan (which means I’ll probably crash on my birthday, which is on the 4th), or I hold out till the 4th of Feb.

I was kinda thinking that I was prepared to hold out for a month. I can live with numb legs for a month and the optic neuritis seems to have calmed down a tad.

Unfortunately, over the past couple of days, I have been having trouble breathing. It just feels  more laboured than usual, especially when I am doing anything strenuous. Like taking the chow for a walk, lol. That is plenty strenuous, because she is under the impression that she is taking me for a walk 😉

What to do, what to do?

I really don’t feel like booking into hospital now and taking the meds. Nor do I feel like coping with the side-effects. And neither do I feel keen to drive to Jo’burg just so that my neurologist can ascertain that I am indeed having a relapse. That kinda narks me off.

I’ll see how I feel tomorrow.  Old year’s eve is as good a  night as any to spend in  hospital *pulls glum face*

As for my wacky title – therein lies quite a cute story.

(I always knew my hubby was way witty, but it turns out that he is also a lot more cultured than I give him credit for).

How it came about is that our Bluebeary was lying on Michael’s lap, watching the cricket with him, and idly nibbling his earlobe as she did so. She has a thing about ears. If she gets half a chance then she will bite/ nibble an ear and try and stick her tongue in it.  Not a nice feeling!

Anyway, she was trying to gaff M’s ear and he was pushing her away, when he said, “We gave this dog the wrong name.”

“What should we have called her?” I asked.

“Chewlius Caesar,” was his answer. “Friends, Romans, countrymen – lend me your ears…”

I haven’t laughed so hard in quite a while.

Written by Maggie

December 30, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your relapse. Yeah..I think that qualifies as a good reason to take a blogging break 🙂 And, I was totally laughing about the chewlius caesar thing…That is about the most clever thing I have heard in a long time. It’s like a line from a movie, ha ha! I hope your New Year is wonderful and NOT spent in a hosptial, if at all possible. You’re on my mind and I’m praying for you.

    Laura

    December 30, 2008 at 10:47 pm

  2. Maggie, Michael is so sharp one can just enjoy his wit !! he is really good with his saying.. good one hahaha.

    So sorry that you are having a relapse and I hope you don’t spend Old years in the hospital by yourself and Michael by himself.

    I think your hair is lovely it suits you so much better than the long hair.. everyone is complimenting you on it.. xxx

    Marié Archer

    December 31, 2008 at 7:45 am

  3. Maggie, I am praying real hard that it won’t be necessary to spend the last of 2008 in hosp. I really do hope you start to feel better soon without having to go that route……:-(

    I just love the Chewlius Caesar remark – very funny……Good one Michael!

    Anyways, Happy New Year to the both of you ((((hugs))))

    Gen

    December 31, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  4. It’s always over your birthday. Just doesn’t seem fair

    supermom

    December 31, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  5. Dear Maggie,
    I wish you a blessed new year and lots of health – hopefully little or no relapses, and lots os fun with your little bluebeary.
    I pray you wil not have to spend time in hospital at all. You will be in my thoughts all the time. 🙂
    If it makes you feel any better, once I had to spend New Years eve first in an airport waiting eight hours or so for an airplane that wasn’t actually broken and could take off safely, hungry and not getting anything decent to eat because the cafeteria(s) was/were all sold out, and spent the year change in an airplane with no food and very little to drink, and arrived half a day late. Mind you, I was just coming from my father’s funeral and had no nerves.
    Gotta go, someone needs help RIGHT NOW!`

    Tara

    January 1, 2009 at 2:56 am


Leave a Reply

