Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Lots of photo’s in this update…

with 6 comments

The tick bite situation: I mentioned it to my father-in-law, who said that he was bitten by a tick a while ago and the doctor prescribed preventative antibiotics for him. And he never did get tickbite fever. So much for the nurse on duty the other night who swore blind that there is nothing you can take to prevent it!

Anyway, I phoned my doctor, who was only too willing to prescribe antibiotics. He said  Cyclidox isn’t used much generally these days, but it is just the thing for a tick bite. So at least I don’t have to be on tenterhooks for two weeks, waiting to see if I get it or not. And just to be on the safe side, I went for an Ion detox, too. Should do the trick between them.

Here is a pic of my tick, still under surveillance in its glass container. Shame, I actually feel quite sorry for it already. There it is, de-fanged and defenceless, but I want it around for identification purposes if needs be. Ugly little bugger.  I guess it was only doing what it was born for. But I don’t want it on the loose again, so it will have to stay in there. (BTW, that is its underside.)

hpim3317

The relapse situation: Thank you very much for those of you that prayed for me. It must have helped, because I am feeling quite a bit better, especially regarding the difficulty breathing thing, which was my main concern. My legs are still feeling numb and tingly but it’s not too bad. I’m actually very glad I didn’t treat the relapse with cortisone. I forgot that my relapses have tended to be milder since I have been on the trial meds, so I should definitely be able to wait till after Feb the 4th before I treat.

The Beary situation: (This will be told in photographs 😉

Michael, with the love of his life (Hint: not me, lol):

hpim3213

The bonding that has taken place between these two has been so sweet to witness. I had kind of intended this to be my dog. Well, our dog, but with a special bond between her and I. As it turned out it is Our Dog, but with a special bond between her and Michael, ha ha.

Actually, she loves nothing better than being with both of us, so it’s all good.

Here is a pic of Michael’s Desktop on his computer at work, just to put it all in perspective 😉

090120091364

The following two are just to illustrate how much she has grown, relative to her look-out post at the front door. Our little fluffy puppy that we brought home has disappeared. Where did this huge gallumping hound come from? (And she ain’t getting any smaller!)

Taken Nov the 12th:

nov-12-08-031

Taken somewhere in January :

hpim32181

This dog has got personality. Unfortunately she generates  more cleaning up for yours truly. Like I say to Michael – life sure was easier before we got Beary, but it wasn’t half as fun 🙂

hpim3171

Having said that, she is remarkably clean and non-destructive. (Just a bit of a messy eater – kibbles everywhere) She doesn’t chew up our stuff, which is appreciated. And she doesn’t dig up my roses, which is even more greatly appreciated.

Okay, you get it, we like our dog…moving on…

The rainy season seems to have finally arrived. Thanks be! And everyone is just loving it. It was raining when I got up this morning. And yet my husband was out. And so was his golfset. Hmmm.

Here are some pics I took during the week:

hpim3165

hpim3223

Can’t you just smell the rain in the air?

Of course, it’s doing my garden a lot of good. And speaking of my garden…;-)

(Michael says it is miraculous that I have managed to fit 18 rose-bushes in our garden, because it is only as big as a 5-cent piece, lol)

I am very pleased with my garden. If anyone had told me as little as four months ago that I would become such a keen gardener and rose enthusiast, I would have told them they had too much imagination and were living in a fantasy world. Just goes to show. And the best part is that I haven’t even killed one rose-bush yet. Not one! In fact…

hpim3287

Does that look dead?

Or this?…

hpim3307

Of course, they are notoriously easy to grow, roses. But then, I used to be  notoriously bad with plants, so I’m still chuffed.hpim3245

hpim3246

It is good to have a hobby.

And then there’s my little Praying Mantis. This little guy came home from the nursery on my Karoo Rose on the 3rd of January and has been here ever since. I love it! Especially as this is one of the ‘good guys’ that eat harmful insects:

hpim3288

Isn’t he sweet?

And then I just had to photograph this little bloke sunning himself on the paving…

hpim3297

That lizard looks quite bling, or is it just me?

I guess that’s more than enough for now. I do tend to get carried away on subjects of gardening, ticks and cute Bear Dogs 😉

Written by Maggie

January 10, 2009 at 12:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent photos!! I love the mantis and your lizard…how exciting for you in the garden! OK, I know, I need to get a life…but here in the Great White North we can only dream about the promise of spring and summer and live vicariously through our more southern aboding friends.

    S.

    Shauna MacKinnon

    January 10, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  2. So glad you are feeling better Maggs. I feel terrible that I haven’t even seen your garden (except for the 7e laan bush). I must come visit as soon as I have a healthy family

    Love the photos.

    supermom

    January 10, 2009 at 5:38 pm

  3. Loved reading this and looking at the beautiful roses and photos.

    xxx

    Marié Archer

    January 10, 2009 at 6:01 pm

  4. Is that really a tick? looks like a freaking mutant tick to me!!! Glad you can get meds now tho!!!

    Your roses are beautiful!

    laurakim123

    January 10, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  5. Your photo’s are stunning Maggie………Just glad you were able to get meds for the bite ……. although I am sure it will all turn out ok anyway 🙂

    Take care

    Gen

    January 13, 2009 at 1:24 am

  6. Belated Happy Birthday. Sorry I did not get around to it earlier. =/

    Glad to read you are feeling better. Will still keep you in my thoughts and prayers, though.

    Your pics are awsome.

    Sorry, not much time to chat, going overseas tomorrow – no comp access there.

    Tara

    January 16, 2009 at 8:17 am


Leave a Reply

