Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Sunday blogger

with 7 comments

I seem to be becoming a once a week Sunday blogger. Guess it is better than nothing, anyway ;-p

FYI – photo’s at end of post, so if you’d rather see photo’s of dogs and frogs and roses…skip to the end.

We had a nice, restful weekend. Michael and I ate out at a very stylish bar yesterday which we have been intrigued with for ages. It’s the sort of place that brings you a cocktail menu and makes them in front of you. Manhattans, Sex on the Beach, Strawberry Diaquiris – you name it. They even had one called Sowetan Toilet, lol. (Made with black sumbucca, yuck! I hate sambucca, I got trashed on it once and will never have it again as long as I live.)

Actually, I never drink as a rule. For no other reason than I find it uphill to stomach alcohol and never seem to get a pleasant buzz from it. But I might have a cocktail at that place just so I get to ask for a ‘Screaming Multiple Orgasm’ by name. Haha. I will not be able to do that with a straight face, I can tell you that right now.

As it is I made a bit of a faux pas…I asked our fresh-faced waiter if they accept credit cards. He told me sadly that no, they don’t. Then followed it up with, “Only joking, of course we do”. Michael says I blushed, which I hate doing. Almost as much as being poked fun at for asking stupid questions :-p

The food we had there was out of this world. I had a nectar chicken salad, which consisted of pieces of chicken breast coated in honey and sesame seeds, accompanied by feta, that fancy frilly lettuce that quality restaurants serve and a guacamole side dish. And peppers and tomatoes and carrot. Quite extraordinarily delicious.

After that, we had my parents in law over for a game of table-tennis. My MIL beat me, as usual. It is becoming quite par for the course, I’m used to it 😉 At least it was a close set of games. She only beat me by two points. Luckily I have a tough ego because when she isn’t beating me at ping-pong, she is whipping my butt at Wordscraper (a variation of Scrabble on facebook). We definitely don’t have a typical mother/daughter-in-law relationship, as you can gather. We have too much fun together to sit and think up reasons to be bitchy about each other, lol.

Quick update on mystery project:

I didn’t mean to be a tease about this and make everyone all curious. I just don’t want to talk about it and jinx the whole thing. And if I don’t manage to finish it before the deadline, I am not going to discuss it at all. I guess I reserve the right and all that. I feel a bit mean about it, though, but really, it’s not all that interesting.

I have done precious little in the way of progress with it this week. Wasted time, wasted precious time, wish I could have it back. But I have felt so depressed this week. Turns out it was purely hormonal, but I didn’t know that at the time. MS symptoms were worse than usual, as they always are when I have PMS and I felt decidely dodgy and depro. I am the weepy kind of premenstrual woman, always have been. Wrote the most dismal and maudlin post the other night, but at least had the good sense not to post it!

I’m feeling perky again now though and it’s all systems go! I’m going to try and make it off the runway in time.

Funnily enough, I discussed it with my parents in law over lunch (we went and ate out yet again today, at House of Coffees). I divulged some information to them and they said they had been convinced that mystery project was actually us trying to get pregnant!!

If only.

But that will have to wait till later in the year, depending on how the trial extentions go.

Very, very keen to ditch the trials and start trying for a baby now! Will have to be patient just a little while longer though.

Yes, so I will be very busy this week, trying to wrap up the whol;e thing. Hold thumbs for me, even though you don’t know what it is about.

And now for some photo’s:

roses-002

Beary discovered the fan this week and we can’t get her away from it 🙂

roses-041

The much-anticipated ‘Double Delight’ rose finally blooms.

roses-031

My first arrangement of cut roses in a vase.

roses-0481

My ‘Pooh Bear’ bush makes its first cluster of roses.

roses-051

Introducing the ‘Black Madonna’.

roses-0131

My garden is really coming alive – check this tiny little frog that was hopping around while I was watering the roses 🙂

roses-0372

And finally – check out Michael’s neat wedding-ring tan. Now that’s what I call married!

See y’all next Sunday, and be good.

Edited to add: Okay, just checked my side-bar calendar and it turns out I’m more of a Saturday blogger lately. Not that it makes a difference…

Written by Maggie

January 18, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your roses are lovely!

    The fan is my best friend at the moment too 🙂

    You are VERY lucky to have such a close r/ship with your mil!

    laurakim123

    January 19, 2009 at 5:06 am

  2. Those are the roses you gave my mom? STUNNING!

    Melany

    January 19, 2009 at 11:53 am

  3. OH and you MUST have a Sex and the Beach. It’s orgasmic. (pun intended) VERY VERY nice

    Where were you btw?

    Melany

    January 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm

  4. Sounds like you been busy though! Rather a Sunday Blogger than a NO BLOGGER!!!!!! Love the pics and the roses are beautiful!!!! Your doggie is looking as prescious as ever!!!!

    Gen

    January 20, 2009 at 1:12 am

  5. I am super impressed with your rose garden. Well done those are wonderful roses!! (I have tried with limited success and gave up!)

    Beary has grown a lot, and you are sounding really chipper. Glad your hormonal emo cloud lifted too. Gah that sucks!

    Have a great week.
    J

    Jane

    January 20, 2009 at 8:27 am

  6. I was hoping for a baby also!

    Wenchy

    January 20, 2009 at 9:02 pm

  7. Wow that rose is stunning !!! (Double delight ) they all are but this one is my favorite

    xxx

    Marié Archer

    January 22, 2009 at 9:33 am


Leave a Reply

