Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Da roses, da Poochie and photo’s…

with 4 comments

Firstly, a picture of the pooch – she has gotten so big…

1502200914831

This photo was taken with Michael’s Nokia N95. Not bad quality for a cell-phone camera, is it?

I have been missing our HP camera furiously. I think its problem is just that it needs new batteries, but that will have to wait till the end of the month. Damn expensive rechargeable batteries. Right now there are more pressing financial obligations to be met, such as a servicing for our car (which is due) and the renewal of the golf membership fees. I motioned for that to be struck off the budget, which was not well received. Ha ha. I was only joking though! Golf is important to our collective health ’round here.

Anyway, my rose bushes have been blooming most beautififully and I haven’t been able to capture it on film. Until it occured to me that a cell-phone camera pic is better than no pic at all. I am actually really impressed at how nicely they came out.

I came to the realisation that my love for roses is hereditary and has been lying dormant till now. My grandfather on my father’s side was a rose-lover and fundi. And my granny on my mom’s side had the most beautiful rose-garden. I remember as a young girl being given a guided tour every time we visited there. She knew all the names of her roses and I recall being quite enchanted. Us kids would eat broad-beans straight off the stalks and my granny would always give us strawberries from her strawberry-patch, with sugar dusted on top of them.

My granny is 86 years old today. And frankly, she’s quite fabulous. She is one of the most stylish ladies I know and is an example to me of how a woman should age. She’s modern and fun and I love her to bits. She has recently taken up scrapbooking, and is making a scrapbook of photo’s of little Sarah-Kate (Annie’s babe). Isn’t that just priceless. Imagine having a scrapbook of your first year made for you by your great-grandmother.

What follows is the result of a photo-shoot in our garden, by Michael.

150220091488

Bluebeary and I. I had to crop this photo quite drastically, because I was flashing quite alarmingly ;-p

150220091511

Bluebeary next to my Burning Sky rose. This rose is so vivid that it looks as though it has been superimposed on the photo. But is wasn’t.

150220091513

Here is a shot of it on its own.

150220091500

And this coral-coloured lovely is the Esther Geldenhuys rose. Esther is a South African rose fundi of note and wrote a number of best-selling books on the topic.

150220091509

This dainty beauty is called the Pearl of Bedfordview. Michael took this photo, too and looking at it now, I am enchanted by the lacy shadow cast on the wall behind the rose. I think this photo is exquisite and am pretty impressed with the N95’s camera feature.

150220091515

Poochie and I posing for a photo with Esther Geldenhuys! This could be my favourite photo EVER.

150220091507

This one is the Red ‘n Fragrant rose, and it sure lives up to its name.

150220091518

Sitting among the roses in the corner of the garden 🙂

Till next time then ^-^

Written by Maggie

February 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maggie, you should tell him cycling is much healthier, he can do it in the dark with lights on and it does not require a membershio yearly fee! 🙂

    mark archer

    February 16, 2009 at 2:59 pm

  2. i love that first pic of you

    Wenchy

    February 16, 2009 at 9:23 pm

  3. Ooh, I really like the Pearl of Bedfordview.

    Have you ever read “Mrs. Miniver”? I think you might like it.

    Katie Alender

    February 16, 2009 at 9:32 pm

  4. The pictures are gawjisssssss Maggs and as for bluebeary – too cute for words! Thanks for sharing…. 🙂

    Gen

    February 16, 2009 at 10:33 pm


Leave a Reply

