Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

At least it’s over now.

with 4 comments

I went to hospital today and got my 1 gram solu-medrol.

It didn’t go too badly, apart from the butcher nurse that put my drip in. She decided to put it in my hand. She really hurt me, and I let her know about it. So she started making a whole lot of excuses for why it wasn’t going in easily. I was so thin, she said, and my hand so bony.

Well, why did you put it in my hand then, if it’s so bony? I thought. (They usually put it in my arm, no problem).

I didn’t say it though, because why would I want to p*ss off the nurse that is sticking a needle in me.

What I also didn’t say is that no-one else ever has any trouble getting the drip into me. I have lovely, plump veins, always have.

When she was done and the blasted thing was up and running, she admitted that she had used too large a needle and that she could/ should have used a smaller one. Gee, thanks.

My hand is feeling sore and bruised now.

Also, my kidneys are feeling it. A burning pain in my back.

In general, though, not too bad.

My body is feeling tired and sore, but my mind is so wired! Full of energy I am, mentally 😉

Tomorrow we are going on a little trip so I hope I can calm down enough to get some sleep. We are staying in a hotel tomorrow night, big family outing to celebrate my parents-in-laws’ ruby wedding anniversary.

Bluebeary will be sleeping at the local SPCA, which takes ‘boarders’. I hope it’s not too much of a culture shock for her. On the other hand, she’s very social, so might enjoy the ‘outing’ and will probably have a nice chat to the dogs on either side of her cage. The cages are big, not really cages at all. More like enclosures, plenty of space for the dogs to walk around in. I’m sure she’ll be fine. She’ll probably miss us less than we will her 😉

I am so excited about my piano exam that I will be sitting in April. Tonight I chose the second of my four pieces that I will be playing. It is the List C (Romantic era) piece  and when I heard it for the first time, I fell head over heels in love with it. I can’t wait to start playing it. It is called Of Br’er Rabbit from The Fireside Tales, by Edward Macdowell. Apparently, it should be played ‘spirited and with humour’. Sounds like my kind of piece.

I have made the decision not to accompany Michael and his parents to the Cape this year for the Argus Cycle Tour. I battled with the decision, and then it just kind of ended up making itself.

I can’t really afford a week away from practising if I want to sit the exam in April, which is frankly a bit ambitious. (Funny thing, I still can’t do up buttons properly as a result of lack of sensitivity in my fingers thanks to MS, but I can play the piano well enough to think that I can maybe pass a grade 7 exam with only two months preparation. Hmmm.)

I certainly hope I pass it because it is setting me back R440 this month. Ha ha, if I lay off chocolates this month it should balance out.

Back to the Cape trip:

Then there’s my mini relapse that I just had. I don’t really feel that enthusiastic at the idea of gallivanting around in the Cape. I feel enthusiatic about getting some rest.

Plus, I was in the Cape last year. My memory is still fresh 😉

I will miss Michael, though. He will be gone for a full week, which is I think the longest we have ever gone without seeing each other since we got married. One of the longest stints, anyway.

But at least Beary doesn’t have to go to the SPCA for a week, which is an added bonus of me not going with.

Gonna go and lie down now next to Michael and hope that the Sandman comes along to help me sleep. I fancy my chances better at home in my own bed, with my own nice firm mattress, than if I had to spend the night in hospital. I can never sleep properly there. And if I ever do manage to fall asleep, it’s only to get woken up at 4:30am or some such ridiculous time.

For a cup of tea, lol.

Written by Maggie

February 27, 2009 at 11:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad it’s over, hope the symptoms aren’t too bad and you feel better soon. Good luck with the exam practice. Enjoy the trip today… Wish you were coming to Cape Town again. I’d love to meet you 🙂

    Jane

    February 28, 2009 at 6:51 am

  2. Ugh, I hate IV’s!! Like you said, at least it’s over now. I hope you feel better soon. I am so excited for your piano test! What does it mean if you pass? I can tell it’s a big deal, but I know nothing about piano 🙂
    Have a fun, relaxing time on your vacation, and don’t worry too much about Bluebeary, I’m sure she’ll love all the other dogs!

    Laura

    February 28, 2009 at 8:52 pm

  3. well hello there- you sound like one real brave lady!

    angel

    March 2, 2009 at 9:34 pm

  4. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

    Mike

    March 2, 2009 at 9:36 pm


Leave a Reply

