Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Quick post while skiving off from ‘studying’.

with 5 comments

There is nothing like studying to make you feel like a kid again.

The good and the bad…hehe.

For the past two days I have been feeling half depressed. When I’m not hyperventilating from panic, that is.

I have hugely underestimated the exam I will be taking in April. My sister (the music teacher) was quite amazed when I told her I would be playing the April/ May session. Why not do it in October? she asked. Nah, I’ll do it now, I said. It’s just Grade 7!.

Hmmm. Just grade 7. Let me put it in perspective. Grade 7 is the equivalent of a grade 12  (high-school) subject  (should you take music as an extra subject at school, or if you are in an art school and choose to take it as one of your six subjects).

So imagine, if you will, studying for a grade 12 subject, on higher grade (like maths, science or biology, whatever you took). You have to do the whole syllabus in two and a half months, including revision. Oh, plus, you haven’t done that subject in 12 years and you can’t remember half the stuff.

I have one month left and after a sleepless night starting to panic about it, I have finally clutched in. Phew! High school all over again, leaving everything to the super-last minute.

It’s such fun, I’m having a blast, lol.

In my defense, the reason I was keen to do the April/ May session is that I never know what MS is going to pull out of the hat, so I thought I may as well make hay while the sun is shining.

Apart from the above mentioned problems, I have a set of unique ones which I sure didn’t have last go round.

The one is that I have to learn all the pieces off by heart. Ordinarily, one would just sight-read your exam pieces from the book, but as I have such diminished feeling in my fingers, I have to actually keep an eye on what they’re doing. Knowing the pieces by heart makes this a lot easier.

Anyway, what’s the fun in studying if you can’t skive off every now and then?

I was sitting in front of the keyboard trying to figure out a particularly difficult part when I heard the ice-cream van drive past, singing its little song.

So, for the first time in my adult life, I ran outside and bought myself an ice-cream. I had such a good chuckle at myself. But it was delicous. I sat in the garden with Beary, who was trying to mooch a lick of it and admired my roses, which are gearing up to do a really spectacular bloom, by the looks of things.

Life sure is good right now 😉

Written by Maggie

March 25, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maggie take one day at a time and do what you can. Don’t stress about it, as that will make it worse.

    Thinking about you

    Mom

    xxx

    Mom Archer

    March 25, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  2. Oh Maggie this post made me smile. You sounds JUST like a school girl. I love it. You are an amazing person. I love how you enjoy and appreciate the small and good things. And find the good in nearly everything 🙂

    You teach some of us important lessons.

    Jane

    March 25, 2009 at 10:51 pm

  3. I admire you for even attempting to study – I can’t see myself doing that ever again – I just don’t have the patience.

    Send me ice-cream – I crave it all day long – every day. LOL.

    Jaxie

    March 26, 2009 at 12:56 pm

  4. Good luck with the studying 😉
    .
    .
    .

    supermom

    March 29, 2009 at 7:16 pm

  5. Good luck with the studying 😉
    .
    .
    .

    NOW WHY ARE YOU READING THIS? WHY AREN’T YOU STUDYING?

    supermom

    March 29, 2009 at 7:16 pm


Leave a Reply

