Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Buckle up…update to follow.

with 3 comments

I forgot how much fun it is not studying.

Obviously, one can’t just randomly not study although that is fun, too. But it is so much better if you are actually officially registered for an exam that is approaching at lightning speed. Ha ha.

When I have to study for something, I am easily distracted. I feel so creative, too, like I need to go and work on something that needs creativity, i.e. not studying. lol

On Friday, I got the urge to bake biscuits (for the first time since Michael and I have been married).

march-09-roses-4911

Here they are before they went into the oven…

march-09-roses-492

And here they are all baked and golden brown. I was very taken with the whole project, particularly the teddy-bear shaped ones.

And just to waste a little more time, I spent a good five minutes on this DIY Rorschach test. The grease-proof paper was stuck to the baking tray in patches, and it reminded me of the inkblot tests, so I constructively used the time to find a witch, a wizard, a Roman emperor, an angry watchdog and a woolly mammoth, among others. Fun times. Then I got a grip on myself and went and did some work 😉

march-09-roses-493

The thing is, this stuff is hard, much harder than I thought it would be. I find it quite mentally exhausting, memorising the notes. Once it’s done, then it’s a lot of fun to play, but the actual learning is rather hard.

Take this piece, for example. Bach’s Allemande from the French Suite no.5 in G. I wrote it off as being an easy piece. Plus, it is only two pages long, I thought I’d finish it in two days, tops.

Well, as I said to Michael, I didn’t know it was gonna be two pages of blood, sweat and tears. I asked him, “Does this look like two pages of blood, sweat and tears?”

He replied, “Actually, it looks like a bunch of squiggles and blobs.”

I took that as support for my cause, lol.

march-09-roses

I am enjoying the whole thing. But I did underestimate the fact that I haven’t done this stuff in 12 years.

Also, I noticed today that my hands are looking quite aged from all the dish-washing. Not a good look for a pianist, it must be said. So better that I start putting on some hand-cream (it puts the cream on? Silence of the Lambs gone funky, hehe) and using gloves when I wash dishes. Plus, I better do something about the wart on my finger that grew back. Guess it’ll take more than liquid nitrogen to finish off that sucker. Like chopping off the finger, but that will make it hard to play a decent C-chord. I should imagine.

I can’t wait until I have my grade 7 and can start giving lessons to kiddies. I wonder how that will work out for me.

Of course, an update wouldn’t be complete without a few Bluebeary pics. This dog is just amazing, we are really getting our money’s worth there. Best R450 we ever spent. She actually fetches her leash now to go for walkies. Isn’t that just too cute.

march-09-roses-444

She’s cute and all, but she’s a bit slobby. You need to go take a shower when she’s done giving you some affection.

march-09-roses-521

See what I mean?

And to finish off, a pic of my Just Joey rose that did a bit of a bloom. This is probably my favourite rose in the garden.

I asked the bloke at the nursery to recommend a good rose to me, back when I was going through my rose planting phase and this is what he suggested. Good choice, too. It is ginormous, stunning and has quite a beautiful fragrance.

march-09-roses-500

Oh, and I nearly forgot, this is what opened up this morning…

march-09-roses-530

This rose is called Bride’s Dream and it’s easy to see why. It is the softest of baby pinks and has the most elegant, elongated shape. Plus, the buds grow on really long, almost thornless stems, ideal for a bride’s bouquet.

I have yet to see a rose that isn’t beautiful. No wonder it is known as the Queen of the Garden.

Written by Maggie

March 30, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have never baked biscuits – lazy person I am. LOL.

    I am sure you are going to FLY through the exam.

    Love the roses.

    Jaxie

    March 31, 2009 at 6:08 am

  2. Yum!!!! That looks SSSOOO lekker.
    Good luck with the stuyding. That looks damn hard

    supermom

    April 1, 2009 at 9:24 am

  3. I loved them I got some 🙂 wow those roses are beautiful. I love those photo’s of you and Michael and the bear.

    xxx

    Mom Archer

    April 1, 2009 at 6:18 pm


Leave a Reply

