Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

New hair do.

with 3 comments

I don’t know how I managed it, but my hair now looks exactly like it did when I was in Std. 6. (That’s grade 8, for overseas folk and new generation Saffies). I didn’t like it then, and I don’t like it now.

I want to grow out my ultra-short style a little, so asked the hairdresser for short back and sides but to leave it long on the top.

Well, it now looks like Harry Potter’s do. Of course, I didn’t know this back in grade 8, because Harry Potter didn’t exist back then. Not even as a twinkle in J.K. Rowling’s eye.

But he does exist now, and I was frankly horrified at the resemblance, lol.

I noticed it first when I had my specs on. Firstly because Harry has specs, thereby cementing my fate as his lookalike and secondly because I could see my reflection better when I had my specs on. Alas.

Of all the celebs in the world, the one I’d least like to look like is old H.P.

Nothing wrong with him, per se. As I understand it he single-handedly raised the value of Bloomsbury shares by quite a whopping amount on the stock exchange.

Still don’t wan’t to look like him though.

I generally tend to go more for Meg Ryan. Think French Kiss or City of Angels.

Thank heavens I don’t have brown hair, or they’d be stopping me in the street for my autograph. Well, Harry’s autograph ๐Ÿ˜‰

I thought to myself, at least I have an item or two in my arsenal that I didn’t have back in school. Like hair gel. (I have no idea why this is. It was early nineties, everyone had hair gel! The least I could have done to that bouffant little do would’ve been to flatten it somewhat with some gel. But no, I left if puffy and shiny –ย  no wonder I didn’t have a boyfriend that year ๐Ÿ˜‰

So I plastered some gel on after washing my hair. (Actually, a day or two after a wash, my hair settles down quite nicely. It is only immediately post wash that it looks so…grade 8. But how long can I realistically go without a wash? )

The post gel look is somewhat better, although my hair is still valiantly trying to attempt a mushroom. (Now, Hair: get with the program! This is the year 2009. We don’t do The Mushroom anymore. Especially seeing as how we are nearly 30. Remember? Might as well have a step cut and be done with it. Really, man.And while you’re at it, cut out the Harry Potter impersonation! )

Written by Maggie

June 14, 2009 at 2:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No my dear SIL. Where’s the photo so that I can see this for myself?

    supermom

    June 15, 2009 at 7:47 am

  2. I had a short do like that in grade 7… replete with mushroom!
    And then a few years ago I walked into a salon and threatened to shave my head if they didn’t do something quick-like to ease the heat, and he did another bloody mushroom!
    Thank goodness mine grows out quickly. I did the Meg-Ryan-City-Of-Angels one too once.

    angel

    June 16, 2009 at 9:33 pm

  3. I’m dying to see a picture! I had some bad haircuts at that age. Lots of trying to pretend I had shiny, straight, blonde hair instead of curly, brown hair. Ugh. Not pretty.

    Laura

    June 19, 2009 at 2:33 am


Leave a Reply

