Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Rolf Harris

with one comment

Every now and then I have the privilege of discovering some really great music that I never knew before.

M and I have been through many ‘phases’ together. Johnny Cash was a good one. Theuns Jordaan singing Koos du Plessis was a more recent one. He introduced me to Queen when we met and accompanied me on my Queen phase. (We played I want to break free at our wedding reception. Oh, how we laughed, although that laughter nearly turned to tears a year afterwards. Thankfully the song didn’t turn out to be prophetic, as it nearly was).

This week, I have discovered Rolf Harris.

Actually, it is my Granddad Barry who introduced him to me.

Granddad loves Rolf Harris and has been listening to the same audio tape of his music since the late eighties. It is so stretched now that it won’t play.

So I am giving him a CD of Rolf songs for his 88th birthday next week.

I listened to a couple of the songs. Didn’t think it was my cup of tea at all.

Even though I am very broad-minded when it comes to music.

Anyway, imagine my surprise when I listened to the unlikely titled number Two Little Boys and it reduced me to tears. Been humming it ever since.

I don’t even think it was me being hormonal or anything. It is just the sweetest song. You’d have to have a hard old heart not to be moved at all by it.

Then I got hooked by Jake the Peg. I just love the way he sings it. I have it playing in the car and it’s just the most infectious tune. I was delighted to discover a video on youtube earlier of him performing Jake at the Royal Albert hall with gusto. Do check it out, it’s so well done:

This is cool music and no-one will convince me otherwise πŸ˜‰

Written by Maggie

October 7, 2009 at 9:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tie me kangaroo down sport!

    Now THAT brings back memories of my childhood. We used to listen to those songs all the time! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    They are fun tunes. (Apart from the 2 little boys which is sad) We also liked Fijian Girl.

    Jane

    October 9, 2009 at 5:54 am


Leave a Reply

